Make Me Stay – book review

25137134

Make Me Stay
by Jaci Burton
Release Date:  December 1, 2015
Publisher: Jove
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #5 of the Hope series
Number of Pages:  304
Kindle Edition
Source:  Kindle Lending Library
Rating:  XXX
Read 12/2/16 to 12/3/16

When we experienced the obvious heat between Reid in Sam in Love After All (the last book in this series) I couldn’t wait to read this book.  I love both characters.  Samantha is smart and sweet and caring and feisty.  Reid is smart and sexy and compassionate.  I love them together, but I was missing something.  I wasn’t quite getting the warm-fuzzies.  There were times I would think the heat was returning, but other than the intimate scenes it just didn’t seem to be there.

As much as I agree with Sam’s train of thought to not get too involved with Reid, who is only in town for a few months; it somehow took away from the passion I felt there should be between them.  The same kind of goes for Reid; he is obviously drawn to Sam emotionally yet he never stops to think about what that means.

The scenes with Sam and her grandmother are very heartwarming and heartbreaking.  The author does a great job of conveying the feelings going through the aging process with a loved one can evoke.  Although, it’s quite convenient that grandma’s best friend is so willing to help out, not many people in that situation get that kind of support.

Don’t get me wrong, this is a great story.  I just felt that this time there was something missing.

3 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

