Moonlight on Butternut Lake – book review

23215453

Moonlight on Butternut Lake
by Mary McNear
Release Date:  May 12, 2015
Publisher:  William Morrow Paperbacks
Book #3 of the Butternut Lake series
Number of pages:  384
Paperback
Source: Warren Public Library
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: R
Read 12/13/16 to 12/15/16

Although I greatly enjoyed Up at Butternut Lake and Butternut Summer, the first two books of this series, I had a problem with how talky they were.  In fact, I subtracted a star from my review of both those books due to the amount of times I found myself skimming.  I cannot tell you how happy I am this book didn’t have that problem.  I’m hoping this will carry on to the next book since the main characters in this book had quiet personalities.

Mila has grit and spirit, even after years of someone trying to take those things from her.  There are some really low points in her past yet once she decides to do something she doesn’t back down.  Or when she does back down she quickly is able to talk herself back up and goes back out there to try again.  I can’t help but admire her spunk.  Under all of that, she is an extremely compassionate person.

Reid definitely needs compassion.  He’s super prickly and even rude.  As the reader we are able to get his inner thoughts and it’s quickly clear that he doesn’t mean to be such a jerk.  He’s stuck in his own pain and in his own head and doesn’t even realize how badly his attitude is affecting those around him.  But just like Mila, once he puts his mind to overcoming his problems there’s no holding him back.

There is a level of predictability to the story, yet the climax doesn’t play out at all as I had imagined.  I don’t mind knowing what is coming as long as the journey is fun.  And this journey was fun.  It was also sweet and sentimental.

It is a bummer that I haven’t been able to find book 2.5 because I love holiday stories and I would love to read more about Will and Daisy.  But I found I didn’t need to read that book to move onto this one.  I have the next book already sitting on my end table waiting for me and I can’t wait to dig in!

4.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moonlight on Butternut Lake – book review

  1. Pingback: The Space Between Sisters – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

