The Trouble with Paradise – book review

9341528

The Trouble with Paradise
by Jill Shalvis
Release Date:  August 19, 2010
Publisher: Berkley
Contemporary Romance M/F
Stand Alone
Number of Pages:  308
Kindle Edition
Source:  Borrowed from MCL
Rating:  NC-17
Read 12/20/16 to 12/23/16

This one started off a bit slowly for me, but once Dorie goes on her trip things pick up quickly.  Although I wasn’t quite sure of her fellow passengers at first, most of them endeared themselves to me by midway through the story.

By far, Christian was my favorite character from the moment he came on the scene.  This book was one of those that the reader can see many things that the heroine, in this case Dorie, cannot.  She was too emotionally invested to see what (who) was right and what (who) was wrong.  I fully understood her thought process.  Who wouldn’t think the All-American guy was the perfect hook up?  I’ve always had a thing for the brooding “bad” boys though. 

There was a lot going on this book.  I had fun reading it for sure, but it did get a bit convoluted toward the end.  Not that I lost track of what was going on…I didn’t.  It just seemed like some strange overkill on the twists.

3 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

