Beautifully Loyal – book review

26066070

Beautifully Loyal
by Nicole Edwards
Release Date:  September 22, 2015
Publisher:  SL Independent Publishing, LLC
Book #2 of the Southern Boy Mafia series
Number of pages:  424
Kindle Edition
Source: purchased from Amazon
Erotic Romance M/M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 12/27/16 to 12/30/16

Before I actually get into the meat of this story, I have to address the cover.  I really HATE this cover.  I can only imagine that if I wasn’t already a huge fan of Nicole Edwards I would skip this book due to the cover.  I mean, what the heck is the model wearing?  A shirt under a dress?  I’m not sure what that is, but it’s terrible.  Not to mention how they have her posed.  Please do not let the cover deter you from reading this book.  I know if you’re already a fan of this author’s work you will read this, but if you’re not already a fan you will be after reading this (although I would highly recommend reading Beautifully Brutal first).

Now, on with the actual story:

I was not a fan of Ashlynn in the beginning.  Honestly, it’s a good thing I got to learn more about her past so I could fully understand some of her actions.  Once I did, I became a big fan.  Ashlynn has been through so much, especially when she was a teenager.  I didn’t think I could dislike Samuel any more than I did after reading book one, but I was wrong.  He was truly an evil person with a black soul.

Jase had me on the fence until I got to know him.  I wanted to be sure he wasn’t just a puppet in some game Ashlynn was playing.  It made me happy to find, very quickly, that he is a great guy.  I could feel his frustration with Leyton in the first half of the book.  Not to mention his uncertainty when it came to Ashlynn.

Leyton.  Oh, Leyton.  How can I not love him?  His back story also broke my heart.  It also helped explain his loyalty to Max even when that loyalty was in direct opposition to what was good for him.  I love that once Leyton makes a decision he goes all in though.  It helped jump this book from idling along to steaming ahead.  In fact, I was having a hard time feeling the chemistry until Leyton went all in with Ash and Jase.  I did finally get the chemistry, but it is not the same level of romance that I found in the book Travis from the Alluring Indulgence series.

The sex scenes in this book are super steamy and range from M/F, M/M, M/M/F, and M/F/M.  What I’m saying is, if you’re easily offended by alternative lifestyles this is not the book for you.  But if you’re open to learning new things be prepared to have to take a cold shower. 

This book is also more violent than the first book.  I liked how, in Beautifully Brutal, I thought Max was terrible but his reputation is crueler than he is in real life.  We see Max’s crueler side in this one, as well as Ashlynn’s and Leyton’s.  I get that things escalated and they had to do certain things, but the incident in the beginning didn’t necessarily have to go the way it did and it is what really started all the violence.  It was a bit of a disappointment, but I guess there wouldn’t be a story to tell otherwise. (I realize this paragraph is convoluted, but I don’t like giving spoilers in my reviews so had to talk around some things.  Hopefully my point comes across.)

I’m really looking forward to more of the stories in the Adorite/Trexler/Kogan families to be told.  The Epilogue in this tale really reminded me of all that is going on in their world and how much fun I will have reading about them.

3.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

