Yours to Keep – book review

17735547

Yours to Keep
by Shannon Stacey
Release Date:  June 6, 2011
Publisher: Carina Press
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #3 in the Kowalski Family series
Number of Pages:  331
Kindle Edition
Source:  Borrowed from MCL
Rating:  NC-17
Read 12/30/16 to 1/1/17

I admit, I am a huge sucker for a fake fiancé story.  I don’t know why that is but I just can’t resist them.  And this fake fiancé story did not disappoint me.

Shannon Stacey has found a way to continue this series although all the Kowalski’s from the first book are married off.  Sean is their cousin, just back from Afghanistan and out of the Army. For future books, I’m sure Sean’s multiple siblings will come into play.

Emma is quite the firecracker.  She told a little white lie to make her grandmother feel better and that lie snowballed out of control.  Although she needs Sean’s help, she’s not going to let him push her around.  To be fair, Sean isn’t really pushing her around but that’s how she construes the situation a few times.  I love their little squabbles.  They’re like foreplay!

I enjoyed how the Kowalski clan was integrated into the story.  They were there to dole out advice and give Sean a hard time, but they didn’t take over the story.  We also got to learn a little about each of Sean’s siblings without it bogging the story down.  Plus, the friendship Cat and Mary forge is a true joy.  And Cat’s little romance on the side is super sweet and touching.

I can only imagine that the stories will move away from the town the original Kowalski’s live in and move up to the area around Sean’s siblings at their lodge.  I’m not sure how that will play out but I’m looking forward to reading more.

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

