Looking Back at 2016

We all know 2016 wasn’t very kind to a lot of mankind.  At the end of every year you have a handful of people stating it’s been “the worse year ever”.  It seems this year it’s no longer a handful.  In fact, I’d say from where I’m standing a good 75% of my friends have had a terrible 2016.  I’m not going to shove the bad down your throat, I think that’s been done enough all over the internet.  I just wanted to acknowledge that I know 2016 hasn’t been the best year for most people.  But I’m determined to start 2017 with optimism.

new-year-resolution-finances-2017-getty_large

Last year was quite a roller-coaster around here on the personal front.  As longtime readers know, my youngest son Griffin graduated from high school and left for the Army.  We’ve had a graduation party, a last family vacation (sans Josh who had to work), a farewell as Griff got sworn in and left for Fort Benning, a family weekend visit at the end of Basic Training, a graduation trip at the end of AIT, seeing him off directly after graduation as he got stationed across the country, a (too short) Christmas visit, and another farewell as he went back to Fort Lewis.  I told you, a roller coaster!

As for our older boy Josh, he’s still working and putting out his resume and trying to figure out life.  It sounds like a stereotype to say he’s a 22 year old man living in our basement, but that’s what he is.  He’s also a hard worker, one of the smartest people I know, is kind to all, is saving up to finish his certification (he has one class left to take), stays out of trouble, is respectful, and helps around the house in many ways.  So although my hope for him is to find his path in life and be able to get out on his own, I can be patient.

As things pertain to my blog, I’ve really picked it up.  I have had other “streaks” of regular blogging in the past, but never so long as this last year.  I decided to start writing about my passion, which is reading.  I’m a voracious reader and that was often the reason I didn’t find the time for blogging before.  As it turns out, blogging about my passion helps keep me inspired.  I love writing reviews because I rely on reviews of others to help me pick what book to read next.  So it’s like a win/win for me!

4b8e7da64d1a1ce3198adee47f229207

According to GoodReads I read 171 books in 2016.  My goal had been 110 books so that’s awesome.  Or was it?  The funny thing is, I had read 121 books in 2015 and had set my goal lower because I know I spend too much time reading and not enough time doing the things that need to be done around the house.  Well, that didn’t quite work out did it?

 

screenshot-4screenshot-5

Over the last month or so I’ve been starting to keep track of new books that I’ve acquired.  I started a document that I’ve been tweaking so eventually it will be easy for me to reference and have all the information I need at the tip of my fingers.  Things like how I got the book (purchased, gift, etc.), how much the book cost me, genre, etc., etc.  So one of my goals is to give a recap at the beginning of each month for the previous month’s acquisitions.  (That word makes me sound like I work on Wall Street!  heehee.)  My hope is that will help others discover new books and new ways to get books.

4479ce5436c45c4696982a9646d0b3ba

Another goal is to pick a favorite every month so at the end of the year I can look back and narrow down my favorites from the year.  That is especially hard to do when you read over 100 books in a year and have read more than one outstanding book in December.  It’s not that you forget the other good books you read, it’s that the more recent books are taking up more brain space at the time.

I’d like to have at least one post a month that will give you more of the personal side of my life.  I’m not necessarily making this a goal since I will most likely be returning to the working world this year and I don’t want to stress that I’m letting something slide.  I’m putting it down here to remind me to be more aware of this hope of mine.

Finally, this year’s book goal is 150.  Again, it’s less than I read in 2016.  But as I said in the last paragraph, I will most likely be returning to work this year.  The job I get will be a huge indicator on how much time I still have to enjoy my favorite pastime…reading.

e36122be1dfb5d7dad22522fabe183e1

So there you go.  A quick recap of my year and a glimpse at my hopes and goals for 2017.

Have you made any goals or resolutions for 2017? If you’re on GoodReads, I’d love to add you as my friend.  We can keep an eye on each other’s goals throughout the year and keep each other on track!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking Back at 2016

  1. Pingback: January Book Stats – Part 1 | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

