My Kind of Wonderful – book review

25403556

My Kind of Wonderful
by Jill Shalvis
Release Date:  December 22, 2015
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #2 in the Cedar Ridge series
Number of Pages:  369
Kindle Edition
Source:  Borrowed from MCL
Rating:  NC-17
Read 1/3/17 to 1/5/17

I’ve mentioned before that I’m going through as many of Jill Shalvis’ older books as I can get my hands on.  This has produced mixed results.  For the most part I enjoy the stories she has to tell.  I can definitely see her improvement as a writer over the years and that’s kind of fun.  I’ve read 6 of her books since July, yet I haven’t read any of her current books (published in the last 10 years) since July.  So picking this one up was like seeing an old friend again.  It really has made it so obvious how far Ms. Shalvis has come in her writing since she started.

Hudson’s relationship with his mom is really sweet.  I love that all of his half-siblings sometimes join them on their outings.  The Kincaid family definitely loves hard and plays hard and I enjoy reading about them all.  With Hud’s need to take care of everyone, it’s good to see his family try not to take advantage of that.  And I loved watching Bailey slowly help him loosen his grip even while neither of them noticed it happening.

If there’s anything I disliked about this story it’s that we meet Bailey’s ex-fiance and mom but neither character is very well fleshed-out.  Bailey has had a pretty tough adolescence and been coddled most of her life.  As much as it annoyed her she understood why things were that way, but now that she has a new lease on life she needs to do things differently.  There was some closure with the ex, but he still seems like his character wasn’t really necessary.  Or, even if he was necessary to show she’s had other relationships, we didn’t actually have to meet him.  Maybe those two characters seem kind of blah to me because Bailey has such a strong presence.  I’m not sure.  I guess the most important thing is that I loved both main characters.

It was fun to read about Bailey coming into her “new” personality.  She learned she can push some limits and which ones weren’t worth pushing.  She would shy away from things, think about them after, and turn around face that same thing head on.  Whether it was doing the mural, skiing, or opening herself up to getting naked with a handsome man.

There is a scene where Bailey talks about feeling warm and fuzzy.  I love that because this book gave me lots of warm and fuzzies!

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Kind of Wonderful – book review

  1. Pingback: Nobody But You – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

