Reckless – book review

26704267

Reckless
by Nicole Edwards
Release Date:  October 27, 2015
Publisher: Nicole Edwards Limited
Contemporary Romance M/M
Book #1 in the Pier 70 series
Number of Pages:  343
Kindle Edition
Source:  purchased from Amazon
Rating:  XXX
Read 1/7/17 to 1/9/17

Although I loved both Cam and Gannon, I didn’t feel I got to know Gannon as well.  The story focuses a lot on Cam’s relationship issues and problems.  Gannon’s issues are written about, but we don’t get to see them the way we see Cam’s.  (Sure, we see Gannon’s water issues…I’m talking relationship issues.)  There’s even a part of the book that Gannon and his BFF Milly discuss the fact that Cam didn’t really acknowledge Gannon’s feelings when they had a big fight.  But it never got brought up again.  That was disappointing.

Now, I don’t want you to think I didn’t enjoy this book.  I actually really liked the story and getting to know the guys at Pier 70.  I’m looking forward to learning more about all of them, especially Hudson and Teague.  The relationship Cam’s dad has with him and all of the other guys is wonderful and it was great to read about such a supportive dad when the mom isn’t around.  We don’t really get to meet Cam’s sister and her family in any significant way.  It makes me wonder if she’ll be involved in future stories.  If not, she was really a throw-away character.

I guess what it comes down to is depth.  I love ALL the characters, even those I didn’t see too much, and the story line.  There were quite a few warm-fuzzy moments that really gave me an attachment to both Cam and Gannon.  And the chemistry between the two is off the charts…hot, hot, hot.  Yet as a whole I felt there was a lot more to the story if we could have just seen one or two more layers down.

As many of you know, I am reading all of Nicole Edwards’ books in order of publication.  Although all of her books can be read at standalone, I find I love the crossovers through the different series so I’m enjoying reading them in order.  This book absolutely can be read without reading any of her other books.  It truly stands very strongly as the first of a series and not one of a sub-series.

3.5 stars

Don’t forget: Today is publication day for A List of Cages.  A must read for 2017!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reckless – book review

  1. Pingback: January Book Stats – Part 2 | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: Fearless – book review | All In Good Time

  3. Pingback: Speechless – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

