Nobody But You – book review

25878511

Nobody But You
by Jill Shalvis
Release Date:  March 29, 2016
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #3 in the Cedar Ridge series
Number of Pages: 465
Kindle Edition
Source:  Borrowed from MCL
Rating:  NC-17
Read 1/22/17 to 1/25/17

Sometimes I am such a Capricorn!  I get ideas and plans in my head and, even when I want to change course, I can’t seem to veer from the plan.  Now don’t get me wrong.  If I was in a dangerous situation or something of that nature I can do it, I am actually quite flexible.  It would maybe bug me, but I’d get over it when I was alive at the end.  I’ve mentioned too many times that I’m reading the works of Jill Shalvis (at least those I can get my hands on) in order.  Which isn’t exactly true; I have an older Shalvis (like this) and newer Shalvis (such as the review you’re reading now) reading list going.  Plus, I won’t interrupt a series of hers if she has any stand-alone in the mix. (I know! My rules are confusing!) Either way, I will most definitely not jump ahead to any brand new release at this point because I have this plan.  Well, it was publication day for Accidentally on Purpose (Heartbreaker Bay #3) by Ms. Shalvis, so if you’re not a freak like me go on out and pick that one up!  I really want to read it but alas, my odd tendencies keep me from doing so.

I already had all of my reasons ready to dislike Jacob.  Seriously, what kind of person leaves and never contacts his twin or mom for years?  The first thing that made him more sympathetic is the fact that he’s a soldier.  A guy that sacrifices for his country has to be at least a little good, right?  Then we find out all is not as it seems when it comes to mom.  SIGH!  I guess he’s not all bad.  Add in the way he really listens to Sophie and respects her decisions; that equals a swoon-worthy hero in my eyes.  There were things that had to be worked out when it came to his family, and it made sense that things were hardest with Hudson.  But he stuck it out and learned some things about himself while the rest of the Kincaid family had some realizations of their own.

Sophie is one tough cookie.  It’s hard to reconcile the Sophie we meet with the Sophie of her Lucas/Sophie days.  Again, as in book two of this series, I felt the heroine’s family could have been fleshed out a bit more.  But they were central to the story so I can live with what I was given.  You gotta love a person who will work hard at whatever they do, be it grocery shopping for the rich or working the front desk at a nursing home or delivering flowers, in order to get by and try to improve their life.  Sophie knew her situation wasn’t great.  She even vented about it here or there.  She never said, “poor me” though.  She just kept on going.  I can’t help but admire that.

From what I can tell, this series may be over.  Although I saw somewhere that Kenna will get a book. If it is over, I’m not exactly happy with how things went down. I feel Kenna was a bit shafted out of her own story.  And the wrap-up of the business with the Kincaid’s lodge and father was resolved, after all this time, behind the scenes.  While I immensely enjoyed this 3 book series (if there is truly not another book planned for the future), I can’t help but be disappointed in the quick and tidy bow that was put on the end.  That actually caused me to notch my rating down by a half star.  Even if Kenna does get her book, the wrap up on this one was just a bit too tidy…not when it comes to Jacob and Sophie; but with the family issues overall.

4.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

