All He Ever Dreamed – book review

14714703

All He Ever Dreamed
by Shannon Stacey
Release Date:  January 21, 2013
Publisher: Carina Press
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #6 in the Kowalski Family series
Number of Pages:  384
Kindle Edition
Source:  Borrowed from MCL
Rating:  NC-17
Read 1/28/16 to 1/29/17

I have been looking forward to the Josh/Katie story for a while.  Although it didn’t disappoint, it also didn’t blow me away.  I was missing out on some chemistry somewhere.  I love both Josh and Katie.  I even get that Josh is a pretty closed-off guy.  That wasn’t the issue.  The whole time I wanted them to get together, I could see they cared for each other; I just didn’t get the warm-fuzzies through much of the book.  Their coupling, so to speak, felt a bit anti-climactic to me for some reason…at least at first.

It seems to me that I started feeling the chemistry once Josh got out of his own way and Katie let things take their natural course.  Truly, the last 25% of this book was wonderful and helped notch my rating up a full star.  Again, it’s not because the story is bad. It’s because the chemistry was missing between Josh and Katie.  I understand that Katie has been “one of the guys” to Josh her whole life, but the fact that he never even noticed she has a great butt made it seem like he was only into her for her body.  Warm-fuzzies come from love and respect, not from lust.  For quite a bit of this book I felt as though Josh, although not quite an outward jerk, was a closet jerk for the way he turned on a dime once he was filled with lust for his best friend.  

The chemistry between Rosie and Andy on the other hand…

The Rosie/Andy angle and where that led was something that I saw quite early on.  I couldn’t quite see why the brothers couldn’t come to that conclusion regardless of the relationship there, but I guess Josh needed to be kept pondering his fate for a while.

I’m still super curious about the Liz/Drew interaction and I’m excited that she’ll be coming home again.  It should be fun to read how that plays out.  There are still so many other people in town I would love to see get their HEA also.

3.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

