Her Leading Man – book review

33980671

Her Leading Man
by Maggie Dallen
Release Date:  February 14, 2017
Publisher:  Lyrical Shine
Book #1 in A Reel Romance series
Number of pages:  182
Kindle Edition
Source: ARC from Net Galley
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: NC-17
Read 1/30/17 to 1/31/17

I want to be BFFs with this book.  It had a rough start for me, but I truly think the few sharp edges I encountered will be smoothed out in final editing.  Once the story got going I forgot about those hiccups and just strapped in for the ride.

The first chapter of this book had me thinking there was NO WAY the author was going to be able to make Ben likeable.  Talk about a jerk!  Sure he was drunk, but why would you get drunk on a first date?  Especially if you knew you acted like a douche when you drank too much?  Ugh!  I couldn’t stand him and felt so bad for Caitlyn.  The way the author, Maggie Dallen, was able to turn things around says a lot for her writing talent.  Now I can’t wait to read her other books to see if she’s such a master all the time.

The chemistry and interplay between Caitlyn and Ben, before there is even any physical contact, is like to cause a 5-alarm fire.  The build up to their first kiss had the butterflies in my stomach in a flurry!  There’s a snafu that happens during that interlude, which took the butterflies from 60-0 in no time flat.  Once again I couldn’t figure out if Ben is just a jerk or an idiot.  (Spoiler: he’s an idiot)

Once Ben and Cait come to their agreement I couldn’t help but fall in love with them as a couple.  They were fun and sweet with each other and it just melted my heart.  Of course, I could also read the writing on the wall and knew the euphoria couldn’t last.  And the way the fallout is written had me mad at neither of them.  There are a lot of books that have me rolling my eyes or yelling at a character because of an action (or inaction).  I somehow sided with them both!

I could not put this book down.  It was fun and sexy and funny and smart.  I love Caitlyn’s group of friends and their love for the old movie theater and old movies.  I want there to be a story for Ben’s friend Gregory because he certainly captured my attention.  This book had everything a contemporary romance should have and an HEA that did not disappoint.  Beside a few rough edges in the beginning and a bit of a timeline issue (that may well be my own obsession over timelines in books and not really anything that anyone else will even notice), I found this to be a perfect read.

4 stars

**I received and ARC of this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.**
About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Her Leading Man – book review

  1. Pingback: His Leading Lady – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

