January Book Stats – Part 1

I think (hope) I kept a pretty good record of the books I read in January.  I also am pretty sure I have a complete list of those I acquired.  So this will be my first monthly recap that I made part of my resolution for 2017.  I can’t promise it’s going to be the same every month.  As I go along I may take out things that aren’t working as well as add things that I think of (or someone suggests) that may be missing.  Good, bad, or indifferent….here’s my January recap:

Books Read:  18
Books Acquired:  139

It was no surprise to me that the genre I read most was Contemporary Fiction with 16 of the 18 books falling under that classification.  I also read a Biography for children and a Contemporary Fiction/YA book.  In fact, that YA book was my overall favorite book of the month.

31204224

 

 

Some of my other January favorites were Bad News Cowboy and A Copper Ridge Christmas, both by Maisey Yates and both part of the Copper Ridge series.  I also tried out 5 new to me authors this month.  I tend to be a creature of habit so that’s a stat I’m very happy with.

25449805

Only one of those books was not a Kindle book.  As much as I love the smell and feel of real books, the amount of reading I do in bed has made me a Kindle convert!  That one book I got from my local library.  Four of the books were from Net Galley, one from the Kindle Lending Library, three were purchased, and the other nine books were borrowed from MCL (my online library).

I read books by 12 different authors, with Shannon Stacey getting the most reads with four!  The majority of the romances were M/F but there were two books that had a mixture of M/M, M/F/M, and M/M/F…Nicole Edwards of course.

27859521

The oldest title I read was by one of the new to me authors, Susan Elizabeth Phillips.  This also happened to be the one that I read as a paperback instead of on my Kindle.

6639670

I read 5,543 pages in January with the longest book being Bad News Cowboy at 507 pages.  The shortest was Malala: Activist for Girls’ Education at 48 pages.  Of course it’s a children’s books so that’s to be expected.

I was either super easy on the books I read or I read a lot of good books in January.  My average rating was over 4 stars!  The lowest rating was 3.5 stars and I actually had two books I rated 5 stars.  I guess keeping track like this will help me see if I rate a lot of books that highly, but I don’t think I do very often.

Believe it or not, only one of the books I acquired in January was actually read in January.  That was Rescued by Love by Melissa Foster.  I always pre-order the next book that will be released after writing my review of the one I just read.  So I’m sure I actually ordered the book in December, but my account was charged and I didn’t actually have possession of the book until January.

So why did I get 139 books but only read one of them?  Well, because I get a lot of free books.  And when a Kindle book is free it’s usually only free for a limited time.  But since this post is much longer than I anticipated, I think I’ll continue tomorrow so I can explain how and where I get so many books.

What was your favorite read of January?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January Book Stats – Part 1

  1. Pingback: January Book Stats – Part 2 | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: February Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

