My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry – January Book Club

23604559

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry
by Fredrik Backman
Release Date:  September 4, 2013
Publisher: Atria
Contemporary Fiction
Standalone Novel
Number of Pages:  352
Kindle Edition
Source:  Borrowed from MCL
Rating:  R
Read 12/31/16 to 2/1/17 (DNF)

We haven’t had book club since October, so it’s been a while since I’ve done a book club post.  Now that all the hustle and bustle of the holidays are over, we met for book club on Sunday, January 29 at Tina’s house.  In the past I’ve posted my review of the book and then given you information on what the group thought overall.  Well, I didn’t finish the book.  That doesn’t happen a lot for me, but I have some reasons.  And they’re not necessarily bad.

First, although our last book club was in October, we didn’t know what book we were going to read until a few weeks later.  Then there was a waiting list at both my local library and my online library.  Tina bought the book and I got it from her when she was done reading just before Christmas.  I didn’t actually start it until New Year’s Eve.  Griffin was home on leave and I was busy.

I like the book…what I read of it so far anyway.  But there is a certain rhythm to this author’s writing that lulled me to sleep.  EVERY.SINGLE.TIME. Yes, every time I was reading this book I’d nod off.  Whether it was in middle of the day, at night in bed, or in the waiting room at the doctor’s office, I would nod off.  When it was first happening I just thought I was tired.  But a few weeks ago I got the book from my online library so could travel with it more easily.  That’s when I realized it wasn’t me, it was the book.  You see, a big part of this book is the fairy tales the grandma made up for the little girl.  And there were a lot of these stories.  I found I was only nodding off during the telling of these tales.  Once I realized that it was like the author was actually reading me bedtime stories I had to find the humor in it all.  Especially since the land the grandmother tells of is the Land of Almost Asleep.  Too funny.

Anyway, I got to about 30% before book club and would like to go back to it someday.  I think I may have to wait until the summer when I don’t read snuggled up under a blanket with hot tea.  I mean, even at the doctor’s office I had on my scarf and a big fluffy sweater.

As for the rest of book club, all but my pregnant sister-in-law who has a toddler at home (in other words she’s super busy) finished the book…even my mom!  They all seemed to like the story and the writing.  Some are even planning to pick up some of the author’s other books soon.  From what they all said I really do believe it’s a story I will enjoy, I just have to take a break and change my setting next time I give it a try.

Our next book club will be Sunday, March 12.  We’re reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain.  Many of us decided we will also read The Adventures of Tom Sawyer if time allows.  I’ve read both but it’s been a while.  I know I haven’t read Huck Finn since I was in school and I’m sure it will be a whole new perspective this time around.  By the way, both books are considered public domain so it is possible to get them in e-book form for free.  Of course, there are many versions out there that have notes and commentary and the such so you can find a copy that works for what you would like.  As usually, I’ll post my review and a recap of our book club soon after we meet.  Feel free to pop in on my comments and let me know what you think of these books or any others.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

