Love a Little Sideways – book review

19005010
Love a Little Sideways
by Shannon Stacey
Release Date:  November 26, 2013
Publisher: Carina Press
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #7 in the Kowalski Family series
Number of Pages:  368
Kindle Edition
Source:  Borrowed from MCL
Rating:  NC-17
Read 1/31/17 to 2/1/17

I think this may be my favorite book in this series so far.  This surprises me since I thought I’d have a harder time liking Liz as she hasn’t figured too prominently as even a side character in the other books.  But I was intrigued by her and Drew since Mitch’s wedding in All He Ever Desired.  And I have sympathized with Drew and wanted to see him happy since we met him.

Let me tell you, Liz is not really what I expected.  I think I expected more of a chip on her shoulder since she moved away with her boyfriend against her family’s wishes when she was young.  It was often said she is as stubborn as her brothers and many believed this was the real reason she stayed with her lazy boyfriend for so long.  All that made me think she’d be a bit on guard with everyone when she returned.  Fortunately, it wasn’t necessary for her to be that way.  Everyone is just so happy she’s home.

The heat between Liz and Drew is evident from the very start, it’s a wonder more people didn’t catch on to their feelings.  I guess, as with any family, you see what you want to see and don’t see what may make you upset.  I think I was on edge as much as the two of them with the push/pull, will they/won’t they, is anyone looking? thing they had going on. 

Of course they both let their own heads get in their way.  The conflicts they had were like a big race track.  Drew wants kids but wants Liz who’s not ready for kids, Liz wants Drew but is afraid she can’t give him the commitment he will want eventually, neither want to hurt Mitch but they can’t explore their feelings without him finding out they’re together.  Round and round and round.

Through it all I think Ryan handled things the best…like you would expect a mature big brother to act.  I already had a soft spot for Ryan, but his little bit of time in this book really hammered home how good of a guy he is.  Fair but cautious. Stern but loving and caring.

Rosie’s involvement in the whole thing actually irked me a bit in this one.  I think it’s because she didn’t step up during the fallout and take any responsibility in how she was actually pushing them together when they were trying to do the “right thing” and stay away from each other.  Kudos to both Liz and Drew, who knew she was conniving to get them together, for not throwing her under the bus to the rest of the family.

Alas, I have other book due back to the library very soon so cannot get to the next book for a week or so.  But it gives me something to look forward to.  Especially since I thought there would be a Hailey/Max hookup and the blurb for the next book tells me I’m wrong.  Interesting…

4.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love a Little Sideways – book review

  1. Pingback: Taken With You – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

