What You Need – book review

25374058What You Need
by Lorelei James
Release Date:  January 5, 2016
Publisher:  Signet
Book #1 in the Need You series
Number of pages:  368
Kindle Edition
Source: MCL
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: NC-17
Read 2/10/17

My introduction to this author was a few years ago with her Rough Riders series.  I only got a few books in before I had a hard time finding the books available to borrow, but I definitely saw growth in her writing from the first book to the third.  With each book I found she added more substance to her characters.  Soon after I found the Mastered series and read the first couple of books there.  I found them very well written and plan to finish the series someday.  Honestly, the only reason I haven’t finished it yet is because cowboys appeal to me way more than martial artists.  So I was beyond happy to discover her Blacktop Cowboys series.  It had a slow start for me, but I really love that series.  Somehow, until recently, it escaped my notice that Lorelei James has a new series.  I couldn’t wait to get to the first book.

The concept of this story is great.  I love both Brady and Lennox, too.  Somehow it fell a bit flat for me though.  This time I can’t even explain why.  I know I really enjoyed most of the back and forth between the characters.  And Brady’s decision to not have sex right away was the catalyst to many hot petting sessions.  I even felt the connection between the H and h.  When they weren’t together there was something missing.  It’s like I was told they both had layers and shown they both had layers, but didn’t feel they both had layers.  It’s frustrating to not be able to explain that better.  Ugh!

That all being said, I still enjoyed the story and even finished it quickly.  Something about their story kept me reading.  I was also hoping to get to know Brady’s siblings more (which I’m sure I will in future books) but didn’t see them as much as I would have liked.  The scene you think will happen with Lennox’s mother doesn’t happen the way you would expect and I appreciated that.  It was a bit anticlimactic, but it was nice to not get the same old story there.  From my experience with Ms. James’ other series, they tend to gather steam as she goes along and get better and better.  Therefore, I’m looking forward to going along on this ride.

3 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What You Need – book review

  1. Pingback: Just What I Needed – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

