Curtis – book review

28945844
Curtis
by Nicole Edwards
Release Date:  March 15, 2016
Publisher: Nicole Edwards Limited
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #1 of the Coyote Ridge series
(A spin-off of the Alluring Indulgence series)
Number of Pages:  338
Kindle Edition
Source:  purchased from Amazon
Rating:  XXX
Read 2/19/17 to 2/21/17

I have a confession to make.  As much as I absolutely adore Curtis and Lorrie as the parents of all of the Walker men from the Alluring Indulgence series, I was not looking forward to reading this book.  I don’t know why and I can’t explain my ambivalence when it comes to this couple.  They are great parents that obviously share a deep love.  They are fair minded and giving people.  I just didn’t want to scratch the surface.  But, since I am reading all of Nicole Edwards’ books in order of publication, I couldn’t continue my adventure without reading this book.  Now that I’ve read it, I understand my trepidation even less.

The story of Curtis and Lorrie is so sweet and heartwarming and heart-breaking.  I must admit, I never understood how they were married for so long before having kids.  I’m a timeline weirdo and it always makes me pause when their length of marriage or ages came up and I think of Travis’ age.  Not that it’s a problem to wait to have kids.  It’s just Lorrie seems like the type who was born to be a mother so I was flummoxed as to why they’d wait so long to start their family.  (So why didn’t I want to read this book?) 

I enjoyed the tidbits of Lorrie’s diary that were scattered throughout the story while also helping to move the narrative ahead.  Let’s face it, no matter how steamy and loving a couple is we don’t want to read thousands of pages of their day to day life on the ranch.  Using important entries from Lorrie’s diary was a genius way to keep things moving without the reader feeling something was left out.  Those entries also helped to show the growth Lorrie went through as the years went by.  I loved watching her bloom from an infatuated, inexperienced, love-struck teenager to a mature, caring, sexual, love-struck woman.  And honestly, knowing her thoughts and feeling when it came to sex helped me to forgive Curtis a bit.

Yep, Curtis pissed me off.  But just like Lorrie, I understand why he did what he did.  I don’t have to like it though!  He handled things badly and even a bit immaturely.  Although he was trying to protect Lorrie (and I truly believe that’s what he was doing on a conscious level), what he did was very selfish.  On an unconscious level he was protecting himself more than anything else.  Thankfully it all worked out in the end and may have actually prepared Lorrie to be tough enough to raise 7 boys.

The present day part of the story dragged a bit for me.  Yet I can’t tell you where the author could have cut anything or even done anything differently.  There was a story to be told and certain elements needed to be in place for the reader to truly understand how this felt for the family…so maybe the pacing was on purpose even.

I’m so glad I’m stickler for my own made up rules or I probably wouldn’t have picked this book up, even though I love Nicole Edwards.  So if you have been dragging your feet like I was about reading Curtis please stop procrastinating.  Trust me, you will love it.

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Curtis – book review

  1. Pingback: February Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

