Everything But A Bride – book review

18800013
Everything But A Bride
Holly Jacobs
Release Date:  June 1, 2008
Publisher:  Montlake Romance
Contemporary Romance
Book #2 in the Everything But…series
Number of Pages:  192
Kindle Edition
Source:  Kindle Lending Library
Rating:  G
Read 2/23/17 to 2/24/17

Given the subject matter (a broken engagement) this book is a lot more light-hearted than I thought it would be.  It’s a super-fast and kind of fluffy read.  Perfect for a day at the beach or a snow day in front of the fire.

The story of Noah and Callie did not go the way I expected.  I was really glad that it wasn’t a case of Callie having a crush on Noah her whole life with him not even noticing her until he was single.  Instead it was a mutual discovery of feelings.  A mutual realization of how well they mesh and all of a sudden seeing each other as something as more than friends.

Noah is definitely a man of action.  Once he makes a decision there is no stopping him!  Another surprise in this story is that he was the worker-bee in the relationship.  Callie and Noah may have had their realizations at the same time, but Noah is the one that accepted that realization first.  I like that he guides Callie more than putting pressure on her.

Callie is a girl after my own heart.  She hates messing with her hair, doesn’t wear make-up, is not a fan of shopping…yet she worries these things about her personality are the things holding men back from committing to her.  Like she’s somehow less of a woman because she isn’t interested in the traditional girly things.

There were some pop culture references that weren’t very current.  I had to look at the publication date while reading because it confused me.  There were references to some of my favorite shows from the 80’s…Moonlighting, Mork & Mindy, Cheers.  I don’t think a lot of readers who are younger than 40 will get these references so it seemed like an odd choice for a book that was published in 2008.  But that’s really neither here nor there.

As with the first story in this series, I was missing that warm-fuzzy feeling.  And just like in the previous book, I like the characters and I believe they belong together.  I really enjoyed the story.  There’s just a spark that’s missing.  I think in this case it was a bit too much telling and not enough showing.

3 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

