Fearless – book review

29869216
Fearless
by Nicole Edwards
Release Date:  April 9, 2016
Publisher: Nicole Edwards Limited
Contemporary Romance M/M
Book #2 in the Pier 70 series
Number of Pages:  355
Kindle Edition
Source:  purchased from Amazon
Rating:  XXX
Read 2/24/17 to 2/26/17

I’m getting to the Pier 70 books with perfect timing.  The 4th book in the series will be coming out at the end of March.  Well, I read the first book in the series in January but there were other books between the 1st and 2nd book in this series in my Nicole Edwards reading challenge. 

I’ve discovered that, although the first book in the series isn’t going to keep me reading a series if it’s not good, it is seldom the best book overall.  (I mean that about all authors and series, not just this one.) That was once again the case here.  I really enjoyed my read of Reckless, but Fearless is even better.  I think it has to do with authors having a lot of characters to introduce in the first of a series.

Going into this book, I already knew Dare had some mysterious first love from back in the day that he never discussed.  I was excited that I would get to meet the mystery man in this story.  And hubba-hubba (do people still say that or is that just a Happy Days thing?), I’m sure was glad to meet Noah.  No wonder Dare never got over the man!  I’m not just talking about looks here either.  In fact, I love that both Dare and Noah thought about how much the others body had changed over 15 years.  Because we all know, no matter how gorgeous a man is in his late teens and early 20’s, men really don’t finish filling out until they’re a bit older.

There were a few times I thought I was close to getting annoyed by Dare and Noah not expressing their true feeling to each other.  Where I understand the fear they each had about diving back into a relationship with each other, I wasn’t a fan of how they sometimes acted while trying to deal with their feelings.  But just when I was ready to throw my hands up in frustration, the author reined them back in and gave me what I wanted.  Nicole Edwards knows when to tone down the conflict and when to ramp it back up.  I can’t tell you how much I appreciate that in stories like this.

It’s always enjoyable when there is more to a story than you first think.  That is the case here with aftermath of the breakup that happened 15 years ago.  From the beginning we are allowed into Dare’s head and we understand why he did what he did and how it shaped his current life.  Not so with Noah, and there’s more to his story of letting Dare go all those years ago than first meets the eye.  That alone helped make this a great story.  It throws so many more feelings into the mix.

As with most of this author’s books, the reader gets a peak into the lives of the other side characters.  From the very beginning I was intrigued by Hudson and Teague.  Now I’m even more anxious to read their story and I’m beyond glad it’s the next one up!

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fearless – book review

  1. Pingback: February Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

