Sentinel’s Kiss – book review

34311377
Sentinel’s Kiss
by Jamie K. Schmidt
Release Date:  March 7, 2017
Publisher:  Loveswept
Book #2 in the Sentinels of Babylon series
Number of pages:  216
Kindle Edition
Source: Net Galley ARC
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 2/27/17 to 3/1/17

There is not much that bothers me more than an incredible book being ruined by continuity issues.  To say this book was ruined is a bit too harsh, but it definitely took my rating down.

Let me jump into some of the good.  Josh aka Sentinel and Ashley are perfect for each other.  It may not seem like it from the outside since she grew up with caring parents in a privileged neighborhood while he grew up with abusive parents in a not so great neighborhood.  Yet Sentinel and Ashley work.  They’re both adrenaline junkies with soft hearts.  They bring out the best in each other while also meeting any challenge the other throws their way.  For some reason their connection makes sense, so much so that they open up to each other about things they don’t generally talk about with anyone else.  It’s a very sweet relationship on that level.

I enjoyed meeting all of the SOB gang in the first book so I would have like to see more of them here.  The interaction among this tight group of friends is something special.  Although in this book the interactions are often quite serious, there is also a teasing and fun side to the group that we get to see.  I liked seeing Ryder a bit more and I found her connection to Ashley quite interesting.

In my review of Necessary Evil I mention that Evil has a good moral compass and things don’t cross too far into vigilante justice.  It was a bit jarring how vigilante the group seemed to be in this story.  Don’t get me wrong, they still had great reasons for everything they did.  And when it comes to Sentinel’s side project of trying to avenge his sister’s death I get that emotions play into it all.  But some of the things he did, while in my mind are warranted, seemed a bit too much for a guy who is trying to NOT draw suspicion his way.

As you can probably tell, I feel there is a lot going for this book.  It is fun and sexy and exciting while also throwing in a mystery and some drama.  That is why errors that take me out of the story really upset me.  I can forgive calling Army Basic Training “boot camp” since it’s only mentioned once (FYI: boot camp is for the Navy and Marines and sometimes even the Air Force, which also will uses Basic Military Training.  The Army is Basic Combat Training.  For ease of use, Navy & Marines = boot camp while Air Force & Army = basic training).  What I can’t ignore is when in one chapter Sentinel asks Ashley about her going to Afghanistan and the next chapter he is surprised when he finds out Ashley was in Afghanistan.  What?!?  This is not a problem with terminology that only a Navy wife and Army mom would know.  This is a blatant mistake that someone should have caught.  Of course I’m going to notice other mistakes more readily after that.  Like a point being made that they drove the Jeep somewhere but the sound of Sentinel starting up his motorcycle is written about as they’re leaving.

So while I still love this series and thoroughly enjoyed this book, I have to take a star off of my rating.  There were just too many little mistakes that pulled me out of the story and dampened my enjoyment of reading this book.  Please know that I realize I have an ARC of this book and some things will and can change before publication.  The problem is I’m not a beta reader.  The mistakes I was picking up on are not the type that should have been addressed before the ARC was sent out to early readers/reviewers.  If I find the biggest issues are fixed when the book is published I will change my review to 4.5 stars.

3.5 stars

**I received an ARC of this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review**
About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

