One Night Charmer – book review

26721602
One Night Charmer
Maisey Yates
Release Date:  April 19, 2016
Publisher: HQN Books
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #4 of the Copper Ridge series
Number of Pages:  352
Kindle Edition
Source:  borrowed from the Warren Library
Rating:  NC-17
Read 3/7/17 to 3/8/17

Well, Ace Thompson was quite a surprise.  I’ve always wanted to see him get his HEA and read his back story.  Not what I expected at all!  As for Sierra, being that Kate has always been friends with her I knew she couldn’t be too bad.  I’m not a fan of the spoiled rich girl and I was happy that there were many layers to Sierra.

The things Ace had been through really broke my heart.  And that he continued to torture himself because of his preconceived ideas of what others thought of him just made it worse.  He felt like he wasn’t worthy of the love of his parents and sister, like somehow he let them down.  I was fully prepared to hate his parents for making him feel that way.  Yet, when we meet them, it’s clear this is something Ace is doing to himself.  There is a big issue that causes him to think this way that would be a spoiler so there is a part of me that understands.  But the man takes far too much onto his own shoulders.

I absolutely loved watching Sierra come into her own.  She was obviously always a strong-willed person.  Seeing her come to realizations about the way she was brought up and the way she always reacted to things around her was a treat.  Even though the chip on Ace’s shoulder had him viewing her as a society snob from the beginning, as the reader I could see that at that point in her life it was a protective mask she was wearing.

The event that really brought these two together can be guessed at pretty quickly once the wheels are set in motion.  I somehow thought Ace would be the rational one in the situation and was surprised by some of his irrational actions and demands.  Again, I do see where he’s coming from once we get the whole backstory…doesn’t mean I agreed with him.  With Sierra, seeing her realize she was thinking a bit like her dad yet making a very conscious effort to NOT take the easy way and to do the right thing for everyone was wonderful. 

I really love the pairing of Ace and Sierra.  They each help complete the other, which is how it’s supposed to be.  They are both very stubborn, almost to the point of being annoying, but in the end that stubbornness seems to work in their favor.

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Night Charmer – book review

  1. Pingback: Tough Luck Hero – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

