So Wrong It Must Be Right – book review

30815389
So Wrong It Must Be Right
by Nicole Helm
Release Date:  March 21, 2017
Publisher:  Lyrical Press
Book #1 in the Gallagher & Ivy series
Number of pages:  184
Kindle Edition
Source: Net Galley ARC
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 3/18/17 to 3/19/17

This book started out fast.  I guess I expected to see more of the back and forth of email and messaging online before Dinah and Carter realized they knew each other in real life.  Nope, and that’s okay.  Since we see the connection they have through their online romance and know they’ve been “talking” for 8 months it all flows quite naturally. I could feel the chemistry between the hero and heroine and that’s what matters most.

I kept feeling as though I didn’t like Dinah, yet couldn’t really not like her.  It was very confusing to me until Carter had some inner reflections of how she tries to hide how much of an emotional person she really is under her business-like demeanor.  Dinah still annoyed me with the way she was so blind to anything outside of her tunnel vision of family and Gallaghers and being born to do a specific thing with her life, no deviations.  There are some inner thoughts Dinah has toward the end that also really helped me to understand her bull-headed visions.

Carter was bull-headed in his own way.  I don’t know if I forgave him that because I happened to agree with his side of things more or if he wasn’t as grating as Dinah.  His back story seemed a bit muddled and hodge-podged together but became a bit more cohesive toward the end of the book.  He is definitely easy to love.  The way he treats Dinah, even knowing she may have to turn against him, is so sweet and makes him extremely sexy.

My favorite character is actually Dinah’s cousin, Kayla.  She seems to be the most level-headed Gallagher and even tries to open Dinah’s eyes numerous times.  The way Dinah somewhat dismisses her broke my heart.  She is so set on her goals she can’t see she is hurting Kayla and even that her goals should maybe change.  Kayla is almost the opposite of Dinah.  Her eyes are wide open and she knows how to look inside herself for what it is she truly wants and needs.  Plus, it seems to me that Dinah was so focused on what her own dad did to the family that it didn’t occur to her that Kayla’s mom did it, too.  Plus, Kayla had to still deal with her evil father after it all happened.

Nicole Helm is a new to me author.  While I wasn’t totally blown away by this book, I did really enjoy it a lot.  I’ll definitely be giving more of her books a try.

3 stars

**I received an ARC of this book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So Wrong It Must Be Right – book review

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Titles – 3/21/17 | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: March Book Stats | All In Good Time

  3. Pingback: Need You Now – book review | All In Good Time

  4. Pingback: So Bad It Must Be Good – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

