Tough Luck Hero – book review

28220051
Tough Luck Hero
Maisey Yates
Release Date:  June 28, 2016
Publisher: HQN Books
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #5 of the Copper Ridge series
Number of Pages:  384
Kindle Edition
Source:  borrowed from the Warren Library
Rating:  XXX
Read 3/11/17 to 3/13/17

We get to know Colton and his fiancée Natalie on a surface level in One Night Charmer and I couldn’t stand Natalie.  In fact, she’s barely in the book and I actually yelled out loud at her!  Colton, although he seemed quite uptight, was obviously a nice person.  Boy oh boy I am so glad Natalie left him at the altar.  Sure I felt terrible for Colton and hated Natalie even more, but that marriage would have been a train wreck!

In most of the past books in this series we get to see Lydia on the periphery.  I had no strong feelings for her either way, although in Part Time Cowboy she played with the edge of me not liking her.  I knew she live to make their small town better and that she was single and she was highly organized.  That’s about it.

With the little bit I knew of both Lydia and Colton, I was getting a bit worried at the beginning of this book that they would never start liking each other.  Although they’ve known each other for a few years, they have never gotten along.  That doesn’t change after they get married…at least not for a bit.  I personally know couples who seem to fight constantly and frankly, don’t seem to like each other.  I will never understand those relationships.  The annoyance Colton and Lydia felt toward each other and the way the purposely pushed each other’s buttons just to “win” had me worried they were going to have that kind of relationship.  Although I am not one to give spoilers I want to say that the relationship isn’t all fighting and sniping.  There does come a point where the warm-fuzzies take over and I start rooting for the hero and heroine to find their HEA with each other.

So many romance books seem to center around the idea that opposites attract.  Colton and Lydia are in no way opposites.  In fact, I’d say they are way too much alike.  That’s where their conflict actually comes in.  Their similarities are what drive them crazy but those same similarities also help them to understand each other once they finally let the walls come down once in a while.  The reasons for their similarities were a bit sad at times when it came to their family issues and their need to make everything okay for everyone else.

There’s a bit of a surprise toward the end of the book that I can’t wait to see play out in the next few books.  I am not a fan of Nathan West, Colton’s father, so I’m curious to peek behind his curtain a bit.  Obviously he’s not going to get his own story, but through the stories of his children I hope to see what makes him tick and what keeps his wife by his side.  It truly fascinates me.

Although I loved this book and didn’t find the story lacking.  There were some pesky timeline issues that, if you follow my reviews, you know are my pet peeve.  They are the only reason I knocked a half star off this almost perfect book.

4.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tough Luck Hero – book review

  1. Pingback: March Book Stats | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: Last Chance Rebel – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

