Kaufman – book review

32609595
Kaufman
by Nicole Edwards
Release Date:  October 25, 2016
Publisher: Nicole Edwards Limited
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #2 in the Austin Arrows series
Number of Pages:  433
Kindle Edition
Source:  purchased from Amazon
Rating:  XXX
Read 3/14/17 to 3/17/17

This was a slow starter for me.  Luckily, it really picks up steam after a bit and I ended up loving the book.  I really think my problem with the beginning of this book is that it actually takes place in a parallel timeline to Rush.  So even though the view-point is that of Noelle and Spencer instead of Ellie and Kingston, there is still a lot of the same stuff being rehashed.  In fact, there are flashbacks of a sort.  As I thought about this I realized I would have maybe appreciated and even enjoyed these flashbacks if there had been any significant amount of time between my reading Rush and Kaufman.  But I had just finished Rush so it was super repetitive for me.  All I can say is maybe give it a month or two between books.  Or, if you’re like me and impatient, just hang in there; things really even out less than 25% of the way into the story.

In Rush we get to know Spencer and Noelle on a very surface level…Spencer is kind of serious and a man-whore, Noelle is chipper and nosy.  There is so much more to these characters than first meets the eye.  I love how snarky and sarcastic Noelle is while still being upbeat and optimistic.  And Spencer is pretty serious, but with his role as team captain and various other things going on around him it’s not a surprise.  He’s also passionate and caring.

The sexual tension between Noelle and Spencer is amazing.  Everything else slips away when they’re together including her inhibitions.  In truth, Noelle only has inhibitions because she’s small and it seems everyone else thinks she should be treated with kid-gloves.  Once Spencer realizes she can take what he has to offer he doesn’t hold back.  And it’s HOT!

Although Noelle’s fears about what she wants in life and what she’s doing in life fall away when she’s with Spencer, she’s a bit neurotic when their play time is over.  She tells him they can’t let anyone know what they’re doing yet is miffed when he acts like nothing happened when they’re in public.  It seems cliché but it also seems realistic to me.  Women (me included) think way too much!

The friendship that slowly takes form between Spencer and his ex-girlfriend Amber is a treat; showing that men and women CAN be friends even if there is a history.  They’re both different people now and learn to talk and interact in a way that is comfortable for them.  It helped me to like Amber who I was not crazy about in Rush.  I look forward to reading her story now.

I felt that the friendship between Noelle and Ellie was a bit one-sided in Rush and this story really cemented that first impression.  I get that Ellie was going through a lot and she did notice things, but she never asked Noelle about any of those things.  Noelle did keep a lot of secrets from her, but since Ellie could sense something happening (not always in a positive way either) I would think she would at least had tried to probe a bit deeper.  It seems Noelle forgives her so who am I to judge?

By the way, you may have noticed that I skipped Jared in my quest to read all of Nicole Edwards’ works.  Well, I have an ARC of Harmless waiting for me (squee!!!) and decided I’ll have to skip around a bit to get it done properly.  I figured the characters from Jared wouldn’t necessarily figure into the Harmless story.  At this point I’ll only be reading the stories that seem like they’re directly related to Harmless; those that have to do with the Austin Arrows or Pier 70.  Then I’ll circle back to Jared.

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kaufman – book review

  1. Pingback: March Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

