Everything But a Wedding – book review

18800279
Everything But A Wedding
Holly Jacobs
Release Date:  November 20, 2012
Publisher:  Montlake Romance
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #3 in the Everything But…series
Number of Pages:  192
Kindle Edition
Source:  Kindle Lending Library
Rating:  G
Read 3/28/17 to 3/30/17

I didn’t connect with this book.  I found it quite repetitive (how many times can you remind the reader that Nana Vancy is a tiny spitfire?) and the formatting wasn’t great.  Now the formatting issues aren’t the fault of the story, but it just added to the other issues I was having.

Dori’s thoughts on marriage didn’t make sense to me.  Even once we get her back-story, I wasn’t convinced that’s how a woman would respond.  Carter/Bill was exhausting with his reminders that he never breaks promises, blah, blah, blah.  I liked Bill’s personality in most ways, but he really needed to use some common sense in this area.

Speaking of Bill not using his common sense, his cousin really got on my bad side.  I’ve been pregnant and been around pregnant people.  Yes, a pregnant woman can be highly irrational.  But it doesn’t usually take the birth of the baby for her to regain her common sense.  It’s generally a minute by minute thing.  She spent so much money on clothes for “Carter” she probably came out even on the job she landed with the Salo family.  Then there’s the baby daddy issue that just, again, made no sense once you know the back-story.

I think I need to give this series a break.  As with the other books in the series, the concept of the story turned out to be better than the actual story.  I’d be better off picking back up with these when the weather warms up and I want something super fluffy I don’t get too invested in for the beach or a road trip.

2 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

