Nobody’s Baby But Mine – book review

6602661
Nobody’s Baby But Mine
by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Release Date:  February 1, 1997
Publisher:  Harper Collins
Book #3 in the Chicago Stars series
Number of pages:  384
Kindle Edition
Source: MCL
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: R
Read 4/3/17 to 4/6/17

This author definitely has a knack for making her characters seem despicable and slowly unveiling their true, lovable nature as the story progresses.  Boy did she do that in this story.  It took me quite a while to like Cal.  What a jerk!  Although Jane is an extremely nice person, she does something so immoral it’s hard to forgive her at first.

Jane truly did something terrible to Cal.  I had to keep reminding myself of that when Cal was being a stubborn bully.  Believe me, him being a jerk to her is justified after what she does.  But she’s so sweet it’s hard to remember that for a while.  I was afraid they would end up with a relationship based entirely on fighting.  I’ve mentioned before that I hate those couples.  I just don’t understand the attraction to going at each other constantly.  Although Jane and Cal fought way more than I was comfortable with, at least they didn’t base their whole relationship on the adrenaline of an argument.

The most touching relationship in this book is actually that of Cal’s parents, Jim and Lynn.  They had me crying.  Literally crying.  My heart hurt for Lynn.  When we first meet the couple I’m not sure about either of them.  Trust me, you will love them by the end and things are not as they seem.

I really enjoyed that for both couples, Jane & Cal and Lynn & Jim, one spouse had complaints about the other when they were doing the exact same thing in a different way.  Such as judging someone before knowing them fully, not listening to what the other was saying, etc.  It was fun to see their “aha” moments because of how far into their own brains they all were.

This was a slow starter for me, but once it got going I couldn’t put it down.  And like I said earlier…tears!

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nobody’s Baby But Mine – book review

  1. Pingback: April Book Stats | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: Dream a Little Dream – book review | All In Good Time

  3. Pingback: This Heart of Mine – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

