Driftwood Point – book review

27276355
Driftwood Point
by Mariah Stewart
Release Date:  June 21, 2016
Publisher:  Pocket Books
Book #10 in the Chesapeake Diaries series
Number of pages:  368
Mass market paperback
Source: Warren Public Library
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: R
Read 4/8/17 to 4/11/17

Such a lovely story.  I’ve got to say, I’m glad I took a break from this series for a while.  Back about a year ago I read book #9 of the series, The Chesapeake Summer.  At the time, I was under the impression it may be the last book in the series.  I was somewhat relived.  As much as I have always loved the characters in this series, there have been various issues throughout that would sometimes bother me.  Now to be honest, I don’t know if those issues totally went away or if I just needed the break from the books that I took to fully appreciate them.  I’ve definitely had my ups and downs with this series.

One of the issues I’ve had in the past with these stories is actually TOO much detail.  I know that sounds odd, but I don’t need to know where a character parks his car if it has no bearing on the story.  So I was a bit surprised about Cannonball Island.  Has it been that long since I read these books that I forgot about such a place?  I don’t think so, but it is a possibility.  Regardless of my memory, I enjoy that there is a new area for readers to explore…which also means some new faces that will still have a connection to our old friends in town.

I absolutely love Ruby, the 100-year-old great-grandmother of our heroine, Lis.  Ruby also happens to run the island’s general story.  She has vim and vigor and doesn’t take any bull from anyone.  Plus, she has a heart of gold. 

Lis and Alec are really sweet.  It’s so natural, once she gets over her suspicions of him, for them to spend time together.  It’s the tale of high school sweethearts finding their way back to each other, even though they never really were high school sweethearts and, in fact, barely spoke in high school.  I love it!

It is totally obvious where the story is headed in regard to Alec’s job and how Lis will feel about what he’s doing.  I was prepared for a battle royale.  But instead of the whole story being focused on that, we instead get a really sweet love story.  Not just of Alec and Lis, but of Lis and the island.  The love of family and home and history.  What it means to different people.  It was really beautiful and I’m glad not a lot of time was spent on discourse between the couple.

As I ended my review of the last book I expressed it may be good if there were no more in this series.  As I end my review of this book I express joy that I can see there will be at least one more.  I’ve rediscovered my love for St. Dennis has been renewed and my curiosity of Cannonball Island has been piqued.

4 stars 

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Driftwood Point – book review

  1. Pingback: The Chesapeake Bride – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

