Happy is the Bride – book review

32068109
Happy is the Bride
by Lori Wilde, Cat Johnson, Kate Pearce, Janet Dailey
Release Date:  April 25, 2017
Publisher:  Zebra
Book #3.5 in the Morgan Ranch series
Number of pages:  304
Kindle Edition
Source: ARC from Net Galley
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: R
Read 4/17/17 to 4/22/17

This book is a compilation of four different authors to tell the stories of four different couples leading up and during the wedding of their friends.  Brady and Ellie are having a whirlwind wedding and want all of their friends and family to be there.  Some have history with each other, others are meeting for the first time.  These four stories deal with the weeks leading up to the wedding of Brady and Ellie as well as the wedding itself.  It is a fun concept and a I enjoyed going along for the ride.

Man of Honor
by Lori Wilde

I so wanted to engage with this story.  The concept was great and the characters were wonderful, yet there was something missing for me.  It could have been partly due to the length that made me miss the depth that I so wanted from Shane and Meg.  They definitely had the potential for personal depth as well as depth as a couple.  Plus, there were a bit too many tense shifts…often in the same paragraph!  I’ve said before I hate to judge too much on grammar/spelling when it comes to an ARC, but this is surely things that should have been caught in beta and not made it as far as the ARC.  It’s a sweet story, but just not enough for me.  2.5 stars

Getting Saddled
by Cat Johnson

This story has a severe case of insta-romance, but that’s to be expected in short stories.  I loved it!  Sometimes I appreciate characters acknowledging how quickly they fall in love, other times I like to just go with the flow without that being an issue.  In this case, Tanner and Erin never really mention how fast they fell and I’m okay with that.  They are both such likeable characters I just wanted them to both be happy.  4 stars

Taming the Sheriff
by Kate Pearce

Love, love, love this story.  Is it because I am already familiar with Nate from the other books in the Morgan Ranch series?  I’m not sure, but I don’t think so.  I just love Kate Pearce’s writing.  This is a super sweet story and, although I was leery of her at first, Della tugged at my heartstrings.  Something about the familiarity Nate and Della fell into so quickly seemed natural and inevitable.  5 stars

The Wedding Bet
by Janet Dailey

I love when a compilation book like this one introduces me to an author I haven’t tried yet and it’s a success.  Janet Dailey is a new-to-me author although she’s been around for quite a while.  That just means I have a lot of books to go through!  I really enjoyed this story.  Linc and Tracy were truly meant to be together, they just needed to actually talk to each other about their wants, needs, and fears.  It doesn’t happen often in such a short story, but this one gave me warm-fuzzies.  5 stars

So I mentioned in the review of the first story about there being errors.  Oddly enough, they were pretty much contained in that one story.  Overall I really enjoyed this book and I’m glad I decided to give it a try.  Not only did I “meet” some new-to-me authors, but I also got to visit with a character from one of my favorite authors, Kate Pearce.  If you enjoy short and sweet romance, this would be a great pick for you.

4.25 stars

**I received an ARC of this book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy is the Bride – book review

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Titles – 4/25/17 | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: April Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

