Random Ramblings #6

Sometimes I get frustrated that I still will get denials from publishers for ARCs I request on Net Galley.  Where the rational side of my brain knows that a lot of these bigger publishers want their books reviewed on blogs that have MUCH more traffic than mine does, the fangirl part of my brain just wants to read the next Robyn Carr book now and not have to wait.

31395383

 

Things are moving along for the wedding.  We have a date and a venue.  By venue I mean the local courthouse for the official stuff and my brother-in-law’s backyard for the informal reception.  This is going to be a homemade wedding.

Speaking of the lovebirds…here’s a picture of them earlier in the month when Kirsten went out to Washington to attend Griffin’s military ball with him.  Don’t worry, she’s not that frivolous with her money that she’d spend that much money for a couple of day if she couldn’t pack a lot into her itinerary.  They also went apartment hunting while she was there and found a place to live!  Of course, she can’t move out there yet for multiple reasons.  But they are getting all their ducks in a row.

17205

After a pretty rough winter of neck and back issues and stress eating, I’ve really buckled down on the “getting fit” train.  It hasn’t been easy, but seeing some results has really helped keep me on track.  I lost 6 pounds in the first 4 weeks.  I also lost an inch in my hips and a bit more than an inch in the waist!  Woot!  I’ve been counting calories Monday through Friday.  As much as I’m being much more lenient on the weekends, I’m not going crazy.  I’m just giving myself more leeway.  I’m really making it a point to go to my classes Monday through Thursday…that’s Body Pump two days and yoga two days.  I am well aware I need to mix in some cardio, but I’m hoping we’ll have some consistent biking weather soon. 

0a0a22652ebb74098450c37694119f37

The above is something I need to keep reminding myself, but it’s working for once!

I also went on a job interview recently.  It went well but I know I was their first interview of many.  It’s a part-time position and I think I’d enjoy the work, so fingers crossed!

I think Spring has officially sprung around here.  Don’t get me wrong, I know we’ll still have some cold/rainy days.  After all, this is Michigan.  But we also get to have some beautiful days mixed in there.  My mother-in-law has been in town a few days and we went down to the Detroit Riverwalk on Tuesday where I took some pics of the flowers.  How can this not make you smile?

0425171609a

Josh got a full-time job! Yay!  He’s working in the warehouse of a big furniture chain store.  He’s enjoying it so far so that’s good.  It’s an adjustment for me to not have him home more.  No sending him to mow the lawn or vacuum the living room, lol.

I hope you’re all having a great start to your Spring.  What are you looking forward to the most with the weather changing?  I can’t wait to lay in the hammock with a good book.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

