Last Chance Rebel – book review

29355329
Last Chance Rebel
Maisey Yates
Release Date:  August 30, 2016
Publisher: HQN books
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #6 of the Copper Ridge series
Number of Pages:  384
Kindle Edition
Source:  purchased from Amazon
Rating:  XXX
Read 4/30/17 to 5/1/17

Readers have been left to wonder about the West heir who took off years ago, leaving behind his siblings and his family’s problems with no word.  I’ve been looking forward to meeting and getting to know Gage for a while.  Well, we finally met him in the last book…albeit in passing and not in any significant way.  Just enough to have me itching to get my hands on this book to learn more.

As for Rebecca, she’s been quietly in the periphery all along.  We’ve met her but never really go to know her beyond knowing she has a problem with the West family…even if most of them don’t know why.  And the why is a doozy!

Part of me was a bit annoyed with Rebecca since the reckless behavior Gage participated in that hurt her was 17 years ago…when he was barely an adult at 18 years old.  I’m discounting what she’d been through, but the grudge she held against a virtual child for a stupid decision he made seemed a bit overdone.  I got over my annoyance with her after she started also opening her eyes to the real Gage.  (Although the fact that he was a kid when it all went down doesn’t ever really come up ever.)

Gage is high-handed (though he truly means well), stubborn, gruff, and sexy.  Rebecca has self-esteem issues, is stubborn, beautiful, and smart.  What could possibly go wrong when these two butt heads?  Hoo boy!  There is blood, sweat, and tears with these two for sure.  And I loved it!

There is a scene with Rebecca and Finn (you’ll know the one when you get to it! No spoilers from me) that had me shaking my head, holding my breath, feeling sick to my stomach, and so many other emotions I can’t even begin to list them all.  There was so much wrong with what was going on there and I’m thankful Maisey Yates addresses that issue eventually.  At the same time, it is exactly what someone in Rebecca’s situation would probably do.

Not only does Gage have to resolve some issues with Rebecca, but there is also a lot that he needs to resolve with his family.  To see Gage work through the true reason for running and his real motivations behind coming back to Copper Ridge is great.  He has so much to give and I hope to see more of him interacting with his family in future books.  Especially since I haven’t gotten to Maddy’s story yet.  (And I have to say, the more I read about the West family the more I dislike not only dad, but also mom.  Ugh!)

As usual, Maisey Yates keeps me thoroughly engaged in her stories and characters and leaves me anxious for more.

4.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Chance Rebel – book review

  1. Pingback: Hold Me, Cowboy – book review | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: May Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

