All You Need – book review

30201192
All You Need
by Lorelei James
Release Date:  April 4, 2017
Publisher:  Berkley Books
Book #3 in the Need You series
Number of pages:  368
Mass Market Paperback
Source:  Warren Public Library
Contemporary Romance/Sports M/F
Rating: NC-17
Read 5/2/17 to 5/3/17

I had to force myself to put this one down.  I knew if I allowed myself to do so, I would be up all night to finish the book.  I absolutely loved this story!  I think it helped that we already know Annika and Axl a bit, but it sucked me in from the beginning.

Knowing what the story was about and knowing how such storylines often go, this book didn’t play out the way I thought it would.  There was a whole lot of teasing and sexual tension at the beginning.  It really cranked the anticipation level up to off the charts!  Of course, we’re all supposed to think Axl is a grade-A jerk after meeting him in Just What I Needed.  Getting to know him in this book and getting his back story was actually sad.  And it made it clear that Annika was perfect for him.

Oh, that Lund mama.  She drives me batty!  Always meddling.  It works out in this case, but she doesn’t know that for a long while.  I’m glad Daddy Lund called her out on it and stood up for Annika in this situation.

What I really loved about this book was getting to know a whole new cast of characters as we got to know Axl.  The neighbors who have become friends from his apartment complex were great.  They supported one another but weren’t afraid to call each other on their bull.  I know we’ll be seeing more of some of them in the future and I’m looking forward to that.

There is a part in the book about Axl’s birth certificate and name that didn’t seem to be useful for propelling any particular part of the story.  It makes me wonder if it will factor into another storyline.  Possibly with is teammate Igor?  Maybe I missed something, but I just don’t know why it was included unless it’s a precursor to something else.

As I mentioned, this storyline didn’t really follow the typical “fake relationship” storyline.  It was a fresh spin on that and I really liked the concept.  I enjoyed that Annika and Axl got to be in their own bubble and really get to know each other.  Plus, they each learned how the other processed and reacted to stressful situations and they adapted their own reactions.  I loved that!

Another bonus to this story was getting to know Annika’s little brother, Jensen, a bit more.  His book is next and I’m excited to read it ASAP.

5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All You Need – book review

  1. Pingback: May Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

