Dream a Little Dream – book review

12753250
Dream a Little Dream
by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Release Date:  February 1, 1998
Publisher:  Avon
Book #4 in the Chicago Stars series
Number of pages:  390
Mass Market Paperback
Source: Warren Public Library
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: NC-17
Read 5/4/17 to 5/5/17

After reading Nobody’s Baby But Mine I told you that I had a hard time liking Cal.  He was such a jerk through a lot of that story.  Well, the love of a good woman can’t totally change a man.  Cal and Ethan are total d-bags in this story!  I was so disappointed in them both.  I understand why they acted how they did, but only to a certain extent.  They really got my dander up.  Ugh!

On the other hand, their brother Gabe is quickly seen for the softy he is and not the gruff jerk he acts like when we first see him in this book.  Aside from his treatment of Rachel’s son, Edward, he treats everyone kindly without being a push over.  His treatment of Edward is over the top, but just like with his brothers I can see why he acts the way he does.  He’s just lucky Rachel is so kind-hearted.

The first 100 or so pages of this book are just gut-wrenching.  Not that there aren’t other gut-wrenching parts after that.  There’s just so much internal pain and suffering for both Gabe and Rachel at the beginning it’s hard to take it all in at once.  I immediately became a cheerleader for Rachel.  There was only one issue I had with her and it had to do with how she thought of the little chest she was after and who it should or should not benefit.  And that is just a by-product of the things I love about her; her strength, fortitude, mama bear instincts, etc.

Just as in the previous book of this series, this book is really two stories in one.  We have the story of Gabe and Rachel as well as a story about Ethan and his secretary/friend Kristy.  Because I was so upset with Ethan for reasons to do with Rachel, it was hard for me to root for him to come out ahead in his story line with Kristy.  I think the author meant it to be that way though.  As much as he would piss me off, I loved his conversations with God.  Especially when God was being Mrs. C. (you’ll get that when you read the book!)

It blows me away each time I read the books in this series that I never really notice the year.  This was published in 1998 and it could have been written today.  There are very few references that date the work and I love that!

I adore the Bonner family, even when they’re driving me nuts.  I also adore that little cabin up on the mountain.  I feel it holds some magic.  I will miss the Bonner’s and the cabin, but I’m looking forward to the series circling back around to where it all started with Phoebe’s little sister getting a story.

4.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dream a Little Dream – book review

  1. Pingback: This Heart of Mine – book review | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: May Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

