Dirty – book review

25671827
Dirty
by Kylie Scott
Release Date:  April 19, 2016
Publisher:  St. Martin’s Griffin
Book #1 in the Dive Bar series
Number of pages:  275
Paperback
Source: Warren Public Library
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 5/7/17 to 5/9/17

A few weeks ago, while compiling my list of new releases, I came across a book that looked interesting but was the second of a series.  After some looking around I learned the author, Kylie Scott, also had another series that sounded interesting.  I put a hold on the first book of both series and decided whichever came available first I’d read.  Well, I got this book from the library a few weeks ago and it’s sat on my end table waiting to be read.  I had other books from the library from authors I already know and trust so this one kept going to the bottom of the pile.  As much as I love real books, I cannot read them in bed anymore.  My Kindle has spoiled me (and my husband who hates the noise of turning pages and the glare of a book light while he’s trying to sleep), what can I say?

Finally, days before it’s due back at the library, I pick the book up.  All I can think is…what the heck took me so long?!?  I love this book!  It’s funny and sweet and sexy and gritty and real.  (I say real in the sense of emotions, not the actual circumstances.)  I now realize that, although this is a first of series, the series itself is a bit of an offshoot of the author’s Stage Dive series.  Believe me, it doesn’t matter.  In no way did I feel as if I was missing something.

The pluck and courage Lydia has when faced with her almost in-laws, even while inside she’s in turmoil, instantly won me over.  The care and, let’s face it, understanding that Vaughn showed Lydia was just the thing to make me swoon over him.  Sometimes Vaughn could speak before thinking, but every time he would realize his mistake and realize how he was coming across and make amends.  It helped that Lydia didn’t let him get away with it when he got too much into his own head.

There was a time or two toward the beginning that I had a hard time keeping some of the peripheral characters straight in my mind.  Once I “met” them all that was no longer a problem though.  I loved them all and especially hope to see more from Nell and Pat.

This is truly going to sound strange to many of you, but it always bugs me when characters are getting undressed and nobody thinks about odors or sweat.  Let me explain.  You’re reading a story and the heroine has been on her feet for hours with no socks on due to the outfit she’s wearing and the next thing you know, the hero is kneeling at her feet taking her shoes off and sometimes even kissing her toes.  My first thought is, those feet CANNOT smell good right now.  We all know it’s true.  But the heroine never has any hesitation on that front.  Until now.  I loved that Lydia thought of that as Vaughn was undressing her.  Sure, we all worry about how we look naked.  But don’t we all also worry about if our feet are sweaty and smelly?  I think so.  And I appreciate an author admitting this.

So, in case you can’t tell, I really enjoyed this book.  Once again, I got to experience a new-to-me author who blew me away.

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dirty – book review

  1. Pingback: Lick – book review | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: Twist – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

