Fall in One Day – book review

13574598
Fall in One Day
By Craig Terlson
Release Date:  May 16, 2017
Publisher:  Blue Moon Publishers
Stand Alone
Number of pages:  327
Kindle Edition
Source: ARC from Net Galley
YA
Rating: PG-13
Read 5/7/17 to 5/18/17

This is a hard one for me.  If you know who I usually read books you’ll know this took me a lot longer than usual to read, and it wasn’t because I was too busy.  In fact, I had every intention of finishing the book before the publication day but I just was not holding my interest.  Yet it was good enough that I didn’t want to give up on it totally and slide it over to the DNF category. 

Some of the things I really liked had to do with regional things.  I grew up essentially across the river from Canada (the Detroit area) and, although in this story they’re further west in Canada.  I enjoyed a character saying pop instead of soda and the actual description of how the season Fall can happen in one day in the northern regions of the world.  But those tidbits (among others) couldn’t keep me engaged in the story.  It wasn’t until more than halfway through that I felt the book was becoming hard to put down.  Even then, there would be a few chapters I would zoom through and then things would slow waaaaay down.  I have to say I did appreciate the shorter chapters in the last half of the book.  I felt the first half had super long chapters that dragged.

There are many things in Joe’s life that, as an adult, I could see coming from a mile away.  Sometimes that’s okay but sometimes it’s just an annoyance.  Unfortunately, it was an annoyance here.  The Nixon stuff only made sense (to me at least) for giving Joe the idea to record things.  And Karl, Joe’s older brother, was such an awesome character I would have liked the story to have been more about Karl helping Joe than all of the other things thrown in.  Somehow, it ended up very disjointed and choppy.

As for the LSD/government experimentation/mental hospital angle…it could have been interesting.  I think the author tried to throw too much in that was factual and real while still trying to make it all a mystery for Joe.  Which in turn had it come across as dry and boring instead of intriguing.

I seem to be in the minority in my views on this book.  If you’re interested in the LSD era and reading about a kid who is basically neglected by his parents (even though he’s 15, it’s pretty ridiculous how seldom he actually sees his parents) and has a great best friend he feels compelled to help, you may enjoy this one.  Really, the loyalty Joe has for his friend Brian is one of the greatest things about this story.

2 stars

**I received an ARC of this book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

