Need You Now – book review

33965506
Need You Now
By Nicole Helm
Release Date:  May 30, 2017
Publisher:  Zebra
Book #1 in the A Mile High Romance series
Number of pages:  304
Kindle Edition
Source: ARC from Net Galley
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: NC-17
Read 5/19/17 to 5/22/17

This book was my second stab at reading Nicole Helm.  The first book I read by her, So Wrong It Must Be Right, was entertaining but didn’t blow me away.  While I still wasn’t floored by this book, I really enjoyed the story. 

The concept behind the business Brandon and his brother Will run is great.  Their father basically decimated the small town they grew up in because of his greed.  Because of the way things went down, Brandon feels partially responsible for the hard times the town is having and most of the townspeople feel the same way.  Although their feelings toward him are not justified, he never really explains to anyone the exact way things happened and so I almost can’t blame them for how they react to him.

Lilly is a tough nut to crack.  She has great intentions and there are many things I can understand about her reaction to men in general.  But even after (finally) getting the whole story of her upbringing it still annoyed me that she seemed to view all men as the same.  Yet it broke my heart when she confessed to how she felt about love, being loved, and loving others.  This is definitely a woman who can benefit from a bit of therapy!  And I don’t say that to be glib…I mean that in the most honest and caring way.

I loved the interactions and the obvious attraction between Brandon and Lilly.  What I didn’t love is how a few things were dragged out.  Their first dalliance, so to speak, spanned multiple chapters.  At first it was cute, the push/pull the two were having.  Then we got in their heads a bit too much and I found myself skimming huge chunks of the scene.

The same thing happened when the climactic conflict was revealed.  Lilly got far too deep in her head and, for me as the reader, it became a bit drawn out and repetitive.  Plus, no matter what happened to Lilly or her family in the past, she was being a downright terrible person.  She became super judgmental of both Brandon and Will about something they did before the big conflict (which honestly, she could have looked at it the other way and wondered if they had a right to privacy as much as she worried about the other person involved) and let that carry over into the other things happening between her and Brandon.  It was all very frustrating.  As I said, it became repetitive or it would have probably been okay.

I hesitate to mention a very big thing that bothered me only because the copy I read of this book was an ARC.  I am going to bring it up only because this book has obviously already been through the first few steps in the publishing process and the chances it will be changed before publication are slim.  Which, by the way, I don’t fully blame the author for.  Someone…anyone…should have caught this!  I even looked it up because I thought maybe I was wrong my whole life.  You do not row a canoe with one person and two paddles.  It just doesn’t work that way.  The scene that numerous times mentions Brandon and Lilly being in a canoe is not a canoe by the way it is described…it is a rowboat.  I have been in many rowboats, canoes, kayaks, paddleboats, etc. in my life.  If I am wrong I apologize for bringing it up, but it was such a huge thing being that Brandon is a wilderness guide.

Although it may seem as though this book wasn’t enjoyed by me, it really was.  I enjoyed the chemistry and the storyline and the setting.  Sometimes I’m the most critical when I really enjoy a book but little things keep it from being great instead of just good.  I think that’s what happened here.  I will definitely be looking for the next book in this series.  I cannot wait to see how thing play out.

3.5 stars

**I received an ARC of this book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Need You Now – book review

  1. Pingback: Mess With Me – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

