It Started With a Kiss – book review

30046605
It Started With a Kiss
Marina Adair
Release Date:  January 31, 2017
Publisher:  Montlake Romance
Contemporary Romance
Book #1 in the Sequoia Lake series
Number of Pages:  286
Kindle Edition
Source:  Kindle Lending Library
Rating:  XXX
Read 5/22/17 to 5/24/17

Avery is one of those super sweet heroines that you wish you knew in real life.  She has grit and determination beneath her sweetness and she almost always speaks her mind.  Ty, on the other hand, keeps so much inside.  But even with his hidden pain, he can hide the truly wonderful person he is when he’s around the people he cares about.

Marina Adair has some of the best “meet cute” moments in her books and this one is awesome.  It’s been far too long since I’ve read one of her stories. (September!)  I’m so glad I noticed this one in the Kindle Lending Library last time I was browsing around. 

There is quite a bit of this book where Ty and his mom seem totally oblivious to what is going on with Dale, Ty’s father.  It’s frustrating beyond belief.  Ty’s not an idiot so it was hard for me to see why he was so blind to what was happening.  I tell you this because I want you to know, as your own frustration level rises while reading, the author does address the issue.  The way it’s addressed also makes sense.

This is a story where you know where things are going, but you’re not sure how it will play out.  Marina Adair does a beautiful job pulling the reader into the story.  There is so much serious with this book but, as always, Adair knows when to add some humor and light.  She always seems to strike that perfect balance.

This book reminded me that I have to get this author back into my rotation.  I’ve read most of her books but not all.  I’m looking forward to going through the rest.

4.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Started With a Kiss – book review

  1. Pingback: May Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

