Slow Burn Cowboy – book review

32853362
Slow Burn Cowboy
Maisey Yates
Release Date:  April 18, 2017
Publisher: HQN books
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #7 of the Copper Ridge series
Number of Pages:  384
Kindle Edition
Source:  MCL
Rating:  XXX
Read 5/25/17 to 5/26/17

As much as I’ve looked forward to reading Finn and Lane’s story and as much as I enjoyed finally getting to do that, this was probably my least favorite of the series so far.  That’s not to say I didn’t like the story.  As I said, I enjoyed the book.  I just didn’t enjoy it as much as the previous books.

Some level of anticipation is what makes a romance novel good.  It’s the nature of the beast (and having to tell a story in a limited number of pages) that most romance books have some semblance of insta-romance.  In this story Lane and Finn have been best friends for 10 years so there was no insta-romance.  Oddly enough, it took them longer to get to the romance portion of their story than most romance couples who have just met!  There was a lot of internal back and forth about whether or not it was a good idea to get involved on the part of both characters.

In fact, it was Lane’s external denials to Finn that brought this one down for me a bit.  I totally understand why she was leary about introducing any sort of physical element to their relationship.  But I also know that she wasn’t totally open with him about her past.  I felt she was needlessly cruel to Finn while trying to push him away and it was unfair since she wasn’t giving him the full story.

On the flip side, later in the story, Finn is totally unreasonable with how he reacts to Lane’s wants/needs.  They drove me crazy!  I know this is part of the point of the story, but it somehow seemed to last a bit too long both times for me.

I’m excited with the introduction of Finn’s brothers to Copper Ridge.  I feel his niece can even bring an element of fun to the mix.  There’s a part of me that feels I may not be able to “forgive” the brothers although it’s not their fault their grandfather left them all equal shares to the farm.  But I totally side with Finn on thinking it’s pretty unfair after all he put into the place through the years.  Yet I know Maisey Yates will find a way to make me love them all eventually.

3.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

