Distraction – book review

33774604
Distraction
by Nicole Edwards
Release Date:  January 31, 2017
Publisher: Nicole Edwards Limited
Contemporary Romance M/F M/F/M
Book #8 of the Club Destiny series
Number of Pages:  305
Kindle Edition
Source:  purchased from Amazon
Rating:  XXX
Read 5/29/17 to 5/30/17

I know I’ve said it before, I just don’t know in which review I said it…Club Destiny isn’t my favorite of Nicole Edwards’ series. It’s not that I dislike the books in the series, just overall I prefer the other series she writes. That being said, I really loved this book. Something about Dylan really spoke to me.

Dylan has been around for a while.  The angry, bitter, sad man in the background to many other stories.  If you read those other stories you know Dylan’s basic story.  We don’t know as much about Sarah although she’s also been hanging around in the background of this series.  Her story is tragic but her spirit is so darn strong!

I was hoping to learn a bit more about Sarah’s first marriage and that relationship, but I don’t feel it detracted from the story that we only get the basic information.  It was enough to help the reader understand what Sarah had been through and why she reacts to certain situations how she does.

There’s a bit of knowing what is coming in this one, but it’s so much fun.  The way Dylan and Sarah finally reconnect is just great.  There are other “secrets” revealed from the main characters and their family that, as I said, there’s a bit of already knowing.  I still really enjoyed how the subjects were handled and the reactions of those involved.

This is said to be the final Club Destiny book, but as is Nicole Edwards’ way she will spin some of the characters off into other established series or even a new series.  I know Trent Ramsey is supposed to be getting a story but I’m not sure if it’s part of a whole new series.  Also, Sniper 1 Security was mentioned numerous times so I feel we may see some familiar faces over there soon.  No matter how things play out, I’ve come to rely on the fact that Ms. Edwards will always have me enjoying the journey.

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Distraction – book review

  1. Pingback: May Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

