Wild Cowboy Ways – book review

25680283
Wild Cowboy Ways
by Carolyn Brown
Release Date:  December 22, 2015
Publisher: Forever
Contemporary Romance/Western M/F
Book #1 of the Lucky Penny Ranch series
Number of Pages:  385
Kindle Edition
Source:  MCL
Rating:  R
Read 7/10/17

Carolyn Brown is an author I tried once before after seeing her name pop up over and over.  She has many books under her belt and a decent reputation.  Unfortunately, I really didn’t enjoy the first book I read by her.  The book I read had a great concept for its story but I was not happy with the execution.  Of course, that put me off this author for a while.  But she still kept popping up for me so I decided to give it another go.  Truth be told, I had renewed this from my online library twice before I got around to reading it since I had so many other books on my docket and was not over-eager after my first experience with her.  I honestly don’t remember what made me decide to check this one out in the first place; I must have seen it mentioned by another author or saw a review that I trusted.  However, it ended up on my radar, I’m glad I finally gave it a go.

There is nothing super deep about this story.  Both Blake and Allie do have some things to overcome; Blake his reputation and Allie her previous marriage.  But neither are so terrible.  Yet this story pulled me in and made me love both characters.  The reactions from Blake when it came to Allie’s grandmother who has Alzheimer’s Disease were extremely touching and endeared him to me immediately.

As much as I understand that Allie’s family is a bit hesitant for her to go for the “bad boy” cowboy after how her first marriage ended, her mom and sister really drove me crazy.  Especially her sister…so judgmental!  I’m glad that Allie gave as good as she got when it came to her confrontations with her sister, Lizzie.  More than them driving me crazy, Allie’s family also piqued my interest in a big way.  I really hope as this series goes along we get more information about Grandma Irene and her jumps back in time (in her brain) to Walter.  And mom Katy’s dalliance with another “bad boy” cowboy before she got together with Allie’s dad when she was young.  Not to mention the youngest sister we didn’t really meet yet but who I have a feeling isn’t living the life her family thinks she is.  On top of all them I still want more from Allie’s best friend Deke and I know we’ll be meeting and seeing more of Blake’s family. 

This story is a perfect set up to so many stories without feeling like I had characters being crammed down my throat.  Sometimes I find that isn’t the case in a book one of a series. 

I know I cannot judge an author on just one book, and this book (which I read in one day) really was proof of that for me.  As I said before, I’m really looking forward to reading about the rest of Allie’s family.  I only hope I enjoy the whole series as much as I enjoyed this book.

3.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wild Cowboy Ways – book review

  1. Pingback: July Book Stats | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: Hot Cowboy Nights – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

