Stud – book review

33947677
Stud
by Jamie K. Schmidt
Release Date:  July 25, 2017
Publisher:  Loveswept
Stand Alone
Number of pages:  203
Kindle Edition
Source: ARC from Net Galley
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 7/21/17 to 7/22/17

I’m finding that I really love this author.  I’ve read all of the books she’s written in the Sentinels of Babylon series so far and enjoyed both immensely.  This story sucked me in right away and I didn’t want to put it down.  I was surprised because the title and cover were not my cup of tea.  I asked for an ARC of the book based solely on my prior experience with this author.  (FYI: I ended up liking the title by the end of the book…there’s a reason.)

Just like Mick was intrigued by Terri’s sass, so was I.  She kept him on his toes and challenged him and I enjoyed reading that.  Especially about a guy who is rich and good-looking so is not lacking for females throwing themselves at his feet.  And then Terri shocked me even more the first time she was in a car with Mick.  Whoa!  The girl knows what she wants and isn’t going to pussyfoot around.  I honestly don’t know if I’ve read such a scene before.  While it startled me, it really did a great job of helping flesh out Terri’s personality.  She is not shrinking violet!

Mick is also a take charge type of personality, but somehow it works with the two of them.  It’s like he innately knew when to be commanding and when to be softer.  Mick likes to come across as a hardass…it’s the nature of his position in his family and his company.  But he’s not as hard-hearted as he thinks he is, especially when it comes to those less fortunate.  I’m sure he’d like to keep it a secret but he’s really got a soft center.

One of the things I really enjoyed about this story is the unpredictability.  Nothing really shocked me or blindsided me, but I would be convinced I knew something was going to happen and then it wouldn’t.  Or something similar would happen to what I thought would happen, but not exactly how I thought it would play out.  So it kept me on my toes a little bit.

I never seem to be at a lack for books to read, but I think I need to start seeking out some of this author’s earlier books.  I really have enjoyed all that I’ve read so far.

4.5 stars

**I received an ARC of this book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stud – book review

  1. Pingback: July Book Stats | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

