Lead – book review

21401910
Lead
by Kylie Scott
Release Date:  July 29, 2014
Publisher:  St. Martin’s Griffin
Book #3 in the Stage Dive series
Number of pages:  318
Kindle Edition
Source: MCL
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 7/25/17 – 7/31/17

It probably won’t surprise readers of this series that I was never a fan of Jimmy’s.  He’s not really the nicest guy, even to those he’s closest with.  I thought maybe we’d see his lovable side in this story.  Yeah, not so much.  But by the end he still got under my skin and made me care about him.

Sometimes I have a hard time figuring out if certain books aren’t engaging enough or if I’m just too busy, tired, and/or distracted for anything to engage me.  If you follow my blog you know my youngest son was on leave from the Army and in town for his wedding.  His “simple” backyard wedding that I baked about 11 dozen cupcakes for as well as many other things.  So yes, I’ve been all of the above: busy, tired, distracted.  So although this story did not have the jump-start I’m used to with other Kyle Scott books I’ve read, I think I was the problem on the being engaged front – not the book.  It took me longer than usual to read but I still enjoyed the story immensely.

The back and forth between Jimmy and Lena sometimes felt a bit much, but on the other hand it seemed realistic.  The same with Jimmy’s mood swings, for lack of a better way to describe his attitudes.  They sometimes got on my nerves and I wanted to scream “Enough already!”, but then I’d think of how important it was for the reader (me) to see how messed up Jimmy really was.

Lena’s situation broke my heart.  I wish there was a little bit more closure with her family toward the end though.  She is such a strong character in so many ways.  Yet her heart makes her weak in certain situations.

This was probably my least favorite book by this author so far but, again, it was still great.  Maybe it was a bit too gritty and raw for the mind frame I was in at the time I was reading the book.  Either way, I’m looking forward to Ben’s book.  I really love this series and this author.

3.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lead – book review

  1. Pingback: July Book Stats | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: Deep – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

