Don’t Call Me Sweetheart – book review

33962041
Don’t Call Me Sweetheart
by Codi Gary
Release Date:  August 15, 2017
Publisher:  Lyrical Shine
Book #1 in the Something Borrowed series
Number of pages:  196
Kindle Edition
Source: ARC from Net Galley
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 8/4/17 to 8/5/17

I really enjoyed this story and I’m looking forward to reading more from this new-to-me author.  The premise and setting were wonderful.  I did have a hard time believing nobody from any of these weddings catches on to the “fake” bridesmaid thing…I’m assuming everyone in this small town knows what they women at Something Blue do for a living.  But I could look beyond that point.  And it was definitely feasible that Marley could get away with it for the particular wedding this story is about.

Luke, the hero, is wonderful.  I wish his past could have been a bit more fleshed out.  Yet, Luke in the present was enough for the story being told.  (Although I found it odd that the fact that he has money never seemed to come up…especially later in the story when it would have had a reason to be known.) The way Marley and Luke bantered from the very beginning was delightful.  It’s like they couldn’t NOT flirt with each other and I loved it.

Lately, authors are surprising me (in a good way) in the books I’m reading.  I saw the writing on the wall on this one so far in advance…I knew exactly what the major conflict would be and I knew I was going to get pissed at Luke for that conflict.  NOPE!  Instead, this story went beyond where I thought it would go and instead, once that climactic conflict reared its head, I was pissed at Marley.  Up until that point I totally understood where she was coming from with her confidentiality agreement.  I didn’t agree but I understood.  The other issue that came up later I did not understand.  So this author tricked me and gave me something I didn’t expect.  Sure I got mad at Marley, but I was supposed to get mad at her.  Job well done Ms. Gary.

This would be a fun book to take on vacation or to read on your lunch break at work…it’s a great escape from the real world.  There are a few dark elements that are mentioned in this story, but all in all it’s a light read.

3.5 stars

**I received an ARC of this book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

