No One Like You – book review

40955075
No One Like You
by Heather McGovern
Release Date:  October 30, 2018
Publisher:  Lyrical Shine
Book #1 of the Chateau Jolie series
Number of pages:  266
Kindle Edition
Source: ARC from Net Galley
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: NC-17
Read 10/13/18 to 10/14/18

This is a new-to-me author, but I wanted to check her out when I read the description of this story. Since it is the first of a series, I figured it would be a good place to dive into reading this author’s work.  Seems like this is an offshoot of this author’s A Honeywilde Romance, but I don’t think not reading that series was a detriment while reading this one. But I do feel some depth was missed.

Trevor is an amazing guy.  I’m sure I would have liked his character even more if I had gotten to know him in the Honeywilde series.  He’s laid back and a go with the flow kind of guy, but he’s also extremely caring and empathetic.  Trevor and Brooke had an instant connection, even if she’s resistant.  But Trevor is persistent without crossing the line into being a creeper.  He pushes just enough to let Brooke make her own choices after realizing she needs more fun and excitement in her life.

I really enjoyed a lot about this story, but there was a piece of the puzzle I felt I was missing.  Brooke and Trevor definitely had chemistry, even though I didn’t find it to be off the charts.  I don’t think their subtle chemistry was the problem.  There were some issues I had with trying to figure out how Trevor’s family wasn’t more familiar with Brooke’s family when they all went to high school in the same small town.  Wouldn’t they all at least know each other on a peripheral level?  Yet that also isn’t what kept this story from being more than okay for me.  There was just something lacking in this story that kept me from being fully engaged.

That all being said, I think I would still like to explore this author.  Whether it would be best to go back and read the first book of the Honeywilde series, A Moment of Bliss, or waiting and reading the next book in this series when it comes out, I don’t know.  Her writing is engaging enough and her storyline compelling enough for me to give her another go.

3.5 stars

**I received an ARC of this book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher. All opinions expressed in this review are my own and given freely**

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is living at home while working and paying off student loans. Our youngest, Griffin recently left his active duty Army job and is now National Guard here at home. He moved back to Michigan with his wife Kirsten and our beautiful granddaughter Hazel. I work part time and try to fit as much reading into my life as possible.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment