The Firsts of 2024 – book tag

This is a book tag I did last year that I put on my calendar to do again this year. I don’t do a lot of book tags, but this one is an easier one for me to do. It also helped me to find the hole in my reading. I can’t believe I haven’t read a debut author yet this year! I’ll have to work on making sure I seek out debut authors in the future.

(Clicking on the title will take you to my review.)



Defending Allye

This one didn’t even make it onto my blog. While there are books I have loved by this author, there are also a lot that haven’t worked for me at all. This is one of the latter. I did review it on Goodreads if you’re interested in why it didn’t work for me.




Frostbitten

I love starting the new year with a book by a favorite author. Especially when the book lives up to my expectations.




Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake

I’m changing this one up a bit. I’m shocked, but I don’t see that I read a debut author yet this year. But I have read some established author’s debut books. I’m even kind of cheating on that though. I know this book isn’t technically Sarah MacLean’s debut since, from what I hear, she had written a YA before delving into adult romance. But this author is known for her historical romance, and this was her debut in that genre.




The Wrong Bridesmaid

I keep changing things up with this book tag. The thing is, the Sarah MacLean book was the book that fit the bill for this one. Instead of using that one twice in a row, this is the second book I read by a new-to-me author.




Boone

Having married a guy who played hockey as a kid and later in adult leagues, I’ve been reading hockey romance since before its fans became toxic. Sawyer Bennett has been my go-to for swoony hockey heroes since the beginning. This story not only has a swoony hero, it’s also heartwrenching.

(I know there are some problematic reasons this genre of romance is so popular and I acknowledge that. I’m hoping since the racism that helped propel this genre is finally being talked about there will be more diverse authors welcomed into the hockey romance world.)




Defending Allye

And we circle back around to the beginning of this list.


I should note that I first came across this tag on Dini’s blog, DiniPandaReads. She often participates in great tags on her blog. I wish my mind would go blank when I try to do these things so I could participate more.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is living at home while working and paying off student loans. Our youngest, Griffin recently left his active duty Army job and is now National Guard here at home. He moved back to Michigan with his wife Kirsten and our beautiful granddaughter Hazel. I work part time and try to fit as much reading into my life as possible.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Firsts of 2024 – book tag

  1. I can’t wait until I get to do this tag again next year because I really enjoyed it! 😃 I haven’t read any of the books that you’ve mentioned here but I do have several books from Sawyer Bennett’s series on my TBR. I’ve heard lots of good things about them! I had no idea MacLean wrote YA before Adult but she’s an author that I can’t wait to read more from. I love that she has such an extensive backlist!

Leave a comment