Snowed in with the Cowboy – book review

40514962
Snowed in with the Cowboy
by Maisey Yates
Release Date:  September 1, 2018
Publisher: HQN Books
Book #3.5 in the Gold Valley series
Number of Pages: 98
Kindle Edition
Source:  Amazon purchase
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating:  XXX
Read 9/3/18 to 9/4/18

I’m enjoying the smaller stories this author has been adding to this series as it goes along.  Sometimes I have issues with the .5 books, especially when an author uses it to give us more info on an already beloved couple and somehow ruins the things I loved about that couple.  But Maisey Yates has been using the .5 part of this series to tell us new stories of a family that’s not involved with the winery and dude ranch that take up the bulk of the full number books in this series.  It’s really been a lot of fun to get these short stories to give me my Gold Valley fix between the other books.

Since I have been reading all of these short stories, it was no surprise to me that Chloe and Tanner would get a story and a HEA.  It didn’t play out the way I would have expected.  Although I knew Chloe didn’t usually have an issue speaking her mind, the way she speaks up for herself with Tanner in this one shocked me.  The girl has guts!

Of course, I also thought the big road block for this couple would be their relationship as step-siblings.  While that is used as an excuse by both Tanner and Chloe in this story, that is not what the overall obstruction ends up being.

Now that all the Reid siblings have had their stories told, I wonder if we’ll continue to get these little novellas about other residents in the area.  I sure hope so.

3.5 stars

P.S. This novella is included as a bonus in some editions of this author’s A Tall, Dark Cowboy Christmas that was published on 11/25/18.  Go for the two-fer!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is living at home while working and paying off student loans. Our youngest, Griffin recently left his active duty Army job and is now National Guard here at home. He moved back to Michigan with his wife Kirsten and our beautiful granddaughter Hazel. I work part time and try to fit as much reading into my life as possible.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment