I Want You Back (Want You)

40788440._SY475_I Want You Back
by Lorelei James
Release Date:  April 2, 2019
Publisher:  Berkley Books
Book #1 in the Want You series
Number of pages:  400
Kindle
Source:  MCL
Contemporary Romance/Sports  M/F
Rating: NC-17
Read 7/25/19 to 7/27/19

 

Former NHL star Jaxson Lund has returned to the Twin Cities, but he’s at loose ends, unsure if he belongs at Lund Industries, or where he stands with Lucy, his ex-girlfriend and mother of his daughter, Mimi. Despite the signs she’d like to leave him in the penalty box, the attraction burning between them reinforces his determination to prove that he deserves a second chance…

Lucy Quade is in a good place with a steady job, a nice apartment, and a well-adjusted daughter, which is why she’s hesitant when Jax insists on co-parenting. It’s not that Lucy doesn’t trust Jax…she’s just unconvinced he can handle multiple responsibilities when he’s been singularly focused on playing hockey. But when issues arise with Mimi, Lucy’s shocked at how levelheaded and paternal he acts, giving her a glimpse of the Jax she used to know, the sexy, sweet man she fell for years ago.

Once Lucy lets her guard down, Jax goes all in to show her how good they are together, but will their past remain too large an obstacle to ever overcome?

This series is a continuation of this author’s Need You series, which I absolutely adore.  It’s been too long since I’ve visited with the Lund family, I’ve missed them all.  But, I don’t think it’s imperative for you to read that series before reading this book.  Just do yourself a favor and go back to read it at some point.  You’ll thank me.

Throughout the Need You series, whenever we’d see the character of Jax I was not impressed.  He was a grade-A douche bag, which seemed to be obvious to everyone but his family.  I was hoping to some day get his story and find out some background on Jax and his baby mama, Lucy.  Well, my wish was granted.  Not only did Lorelei James deliver on giving her readers the story of Lucy, Jax, and Mimi…she delivered big.

The way Lucy and Jax first meet is fun and witty and instantly made me love Lucy.  Jax quickly wormed his way into my heart as well.  To be fair, if you are one who hasn’t actually read the books in the other series, you may think Jax is all wonderful and Lucy is unreasonable.  You’ll quickly discover Lucy has a reason for her reticence and Jax has a ton to make up for.

As usual with this author, these characters have a boatload of chemistry.  I don’t know how Lucy would ever think she’d be able to resist the pull between her and Jax.  On top of that, Ms. James writes their daughter so real and messy and true. 

On top of the angst this story has, it’s also a lot of fun.  Which kept me turning the pages. I cannot stress enough how much I’m looking forward to reading about this branch of the Lund family.

5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is living at home while working and paying off student loans. Our youngest, Griffin recently left his active duty Army job and is now National Guard here at home. He moved back to Michigan with his wife Kirsten and our beautiful granddaughter Hazel. I work part time and try to fit as much reading into my life as possible.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Want You Back (Want You)

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday Turns 10! | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: Want You to Want Me (Want You) | All In Good Time

Leave a comment