Monthly Mash-Up #3 (August 2014)

Hahahaha!  I crack myself up!  I started my last monthly round-up stating I was hoping to have my vacation posts up by that time.  Well, I still haven’t done that.  What I truly don’t understand is how, when I was working, I was the queen at time management while doing my job.  But outside of a traditional work environment I just suck at managing time.  But I keep trying!  That’s worth something, right?

  • The month started out with a family reunion with my mom’s side of the family. My hubby and boys didn’t attend due to work schedules, but I was there for the whole week. And let me tell you, a week is too long! I love my family, but being around anywhere from 15-20 (depending on the day) of them for a week was too much! I’m not making any promises, but I will honestly try to get a post with some pics done on that trip.
  • Another post I’ve been thinking about doing is about the flood we had in my area right after we returned from the family reunion. There’s just too much to say about it here. In the meantime, here’s a picture to give you an idea of what happened.  This is the exit from the freeway to one of the main crossroads by us.  I mean, less than 2 miles away.  Crazy!
(source)

(source)

  • Luckily, our friend Tina didn’t have too much water damage to deal with since the weekend following the flood she hosted my little sister’s baby shower. We actually had a beautiful day and the shower turned out so cute. We had a book theme going and there were books and book quotes everywhere. Adorable!
The Dessert Table

The Dessert Table

  • Since all I seem to have this summer is busy weeks, a few days after the shower was my brother’s wedding. He had an extremely small ceremony at a local chapel with just my mom, Herb and me, his daughter, Kristina’s mom and dad, Kristina’s brother and his girlfriend. That was it, just us. Of course, our sisters would have been invited had they been in town but they weren’t. After the ceremony we headed over to Mitchell’s Fish Market for dinner. I got sea bass and it was okay. I was a bit bummed because I was looking forward to a great seafood dinner and it was just average. But their desserts were amazing! I had key lime pie and had Herb get their chocolate cake to take home for the boys.
My niece watching the bride walk down the aisle

My niece watching the bride walk down the aisle

  • The same day as the wedding, Griffin left for a camping trip with some of his JROTC group. It was basically the Juniors and Seniors that are either staff or high positions. They couldn’t all make it, but there were about 10 kids all together. Their sergeant and major were there as well as a couple of parents. Herb and I went up late Saturday afternoon and hung out for about 5 hours. It was great seeing them all interacting without video games or cell phones! (The campground is right across a small river from Canada so the phones kept warning of international charges.)
Stole this from my friend Wendy's FB page.

Stole this from my friend Wendy’s FB page.

  • Griffin was also invited to go up to his friend Rance’s cottage for Labor Day weekend so, although he wasn’t truly camping, he was “roughing it” two weekends in a row. And we had a semi-empty house.
  • Have you seen Guardians of the Galaxy? Somehow we managed to squeeze a movie into this busy month and I LOVED it! I’ve really come to love Chris Pratt over the last couple of years. He’s just great in everything he does.
  • My wonderful husband spoils me beyond belief. You all know I’ve been anxiously awaiting the Starz premier of Outlander. They had a sneak peak you could watch on You Tube or On Demand and he saw how much I enjoyed the show. Plus, he really got interested himself. He ended up ordering Starz even though I told him I understand not spending the extra money. He tries to act tough but he’s a teddy bear with me.

Other bits from On the Line:

  • One early morning Griffin and I were heading to the school for something for JROTC, I don’t remember exactly what it was that day. Anyway, I was a bit upset because we were (in my opinion) running late. Griffin laughed at me and said, “Mom, we’re only running late by the Cholger Clock.” Of course I wanted him to explain what that meant and he said that if we are not early by at least 5 minutes I always say we’re late. He’s right. I grew up with a dad that was late for EVERYTHING. I hated it! It has turned me in the opposite direction and this list from Buzzfeed really hits the nail on the head. I’m guilty of them all!
  • A wonderful glossary of terms for the book nerds out there.
  • What would you do if your image was photoshopped without your permission? I love this models reaction to just that scenario.  Good for her!
  • A great, simple cheat sheet on baking cookies. I love that there are pictures, too.
  • Have you seen the summer sitcom Welcome to Sweden? I’m really enjoying this one. There are some awesome cameos, too. Is it just me, or does Greg Poehler look like Greg Kinnear’s younger brother?

Favorite Podcast of the Month:

Another one from the folks over at 99% Invisible.  This one won’t even sound like it would be interesting, but somehow it was.  The Sound of Sports is about creating the sounds we here during sporting events.  Trust me on this.

Favorite Blog Post of the Month:

Can you tell I like familiar things?  Here’s another one from In Sonnet’s Kitchen.  Sonnet shares her thoughts on yoga in What I Learned from Yogathon 2014.  Whether you practice yoga or not, what she learned can be used in your every day life.

Books I Finished Last Month:

17929099[1]   17700010[1]     18053207[1]

20322384[1]18302281[1]    19246093[1]

22038196[1]20807774[1]

On Tap For This Month:

Well, school started today so I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before I have a full schedule again.  I know my MIL will be down for some appointments.  Drill practice will be starting for Griffin.  Josh will be starting his classes later this month because all of his classes were mid-term starters for some reason this time.  And of course, the official start of fall is in a few weeks.

How was your summer?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

