Cheri vs. Elliptical – Part I

I can only imagine there will be many, many, many battles between the elliptical and me in the coming days.  That’s why this post is titled Part I.  I gave you a small taste of what I went through to get my booty on the machine yesterday.  Today was a bit easier, but still a challenge.

Yesterday, I had gotten on the elliptical with the intent of using a steady pace for as long as it took for me to listen to a podcast.  Around 20-25 minutes.  (Another thing I procrastinate is listening to the podcasts I subscribe to in a timely manner, so I’m on the beginning of November only because I’ve been listening a lot while doing my Christmas baking.)  I quickly realized that wasn’t going to happen.  Believe it or not, I need a goal to continue.  Sounds strange when I said before that I never reach my goals.  So, knowing myself as well as I do, I set a very small goal.  If I had just said to myself, “I’m going to keep going on the elliptical until I’m too tired to go further”, I would have gotten off in 2 minutes after convincing myself I couldn’t breath.  So I told myself I had to make one lap, regardless of how long it took me.  I have no idea how far a lap is, I got this darn thing so long ago I don’t know where the manual is or what things mean anymore.  Here’s what I mean:

See, in this terrible picture I took while on the elliptical with my phone so there’s a glare, the “track” in the middle of the blue display?  That’s what I mean by a lap.  Once it goes all the way around that is one lap.  The past two days it has taken 10-11 minutes.

So I was able to complete a lap both days.  But a word to the wise…don’t go running down the basement stairs after doing the elliptical two days in a row when the most exercise you’ve gotten in the past 3 months is walking from the parking lot across the street into work.  Your legs will be like jell-o.  If I hadn’t been hanging onto the rail I would have taken a header.

My goals for the elliptical will be baby steps.  That’s something I like to say a lot…baby steps.  Once I can do a lap in less than 10 minutes I will either up the resistance or go for a lap and a half.  Haven’t decided yet.

The struggle/fight wasn’t as major today.  I remembered that I needed to have water with me so went in search of one of my water bottles.  You see, I may not work out as much as I should but I do have the equipment.  I have a water bottle from when I did a walk for Multiple Sclerosis, I have one I bought myself with a little freezer thing that goes in to keep the water cold, I have a Nalgene bottle my darling husband got me in a cool orange color.  Can you guess how many I could find?  Go on, take a wild guess.  That’s right!  Zero, none, nada, zip, zilch.  I could find Griffin’s water bottles, Josh’s water bottles, Herb’s water bottles…no Cheri water bottles.  And you’ll soon learn I am a bit OCD about what I drink out of.  But I didn’t let that stop me!  (Yay, me!)  I found a cup to use that wouldn’t spill all over and got my self moving!

I’m sure tomorrow will be the biggest struggle so far since I have to go back to work.  My best intentions are always to get up early to work out.  Maybe you notice from my previous post, I am a snoozer.  Before I know it I’m out of time.  Then I say I’ll do it when I get home, but I argue with myself after work saying it’s been a stressful/long/hard day and I need to relax for a few minutes first.  As you can guess, I never end up doing that work out.  I was thinking maybe I can exercise in my pajamas.  Let’s face it, the house is always coldest in the morning.  Who wants to get out of their warm pjs to get on cold work out clothes?  NOBODY!  Since I’m still doing a short work out maybe I can just throw on my pajama pants and tennies and hop on.  We’ll see…

Still plan on getting back on to make a to do list for this week later.  I’m formulating that in my head right now. 

If you’re interested in what podcast I’ve been listening to the past couple of days while on the elliptical, it’s Stuff You Missed in History Class from the wonderful people at How Stuff Works.  I’m so glad I stumbled upon them when I first got my iPod.  And no, I do not know anyone who works there and I am in no way affiliated with them.  I just likes what I likes 😉

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

