My View on Reviews (and the next book club pick)

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away….wait, that’s not what I meant. A long time ago, here on my blog, I told you about my book club. At the time I told you I would let you know what books we were reading so you could read along with me if you wanted. I also said I’d post my thoughts as well as the thoughts of my club members here. Well, I have done that once or twice and I would like to get back into that. So I’m stopping by to let you know that my book club is currently reading Don’t Order Dog by C. T. Wente. I found it with no problem on Amazon and decided to take advantage of my Amazon Prime status by borrowing the eBook for free. I have heard from other book club member saying they’ve had a hard time finding the book anywhere else. Turns out it’s was published independently and apparently a lot of libraries don’t (won’t?) stock such books. I still don’t have a date for our book club meeting, so I’m not sure when I’ll be back to do a recap of our meeting. Sometime before the end of February though.

9781491052051_p0_v1_s260x420[1]

On another note, I wanted to give you some idea of my thought process when reviewing a book, movie or anything else. There are things that many critics hold against authors, actors and directors that I do not. I guess that’s why I’m not a professional critic. But, to me, these things (movies, books, etc.) are an escape from reality. So if the hero and heroine fall in love way too fast for real life, that’s okay by me. It’s not meant to be real. There is the exception of biographies, autobiographies, documentaries and that sort of thing. In most cases, I will overlook such things. The ending wrapped up in a nice little bow? Not usually going to bother me. Are people falling in love too fast, jumping to conclusions too often, or having crazy misunderstandings? All fine from my point of view. Although, I will call out blatant problems that pull me out of the story. If I’m watching a movie that is set in 1995 and the character’s cell phone is small and sleek, I’m going to notice. If a book takes place in Colorado in December and the character is in shorts and a tee shirt with no mention of him freezing, it’s going to bug me. So, I guess what I’m saying is that it’s the little things that will bug me and be mentioned in my reviews.

Something that annoys me about some reviews is the total recap of the story. I will, however, give you the blurb that the movie studio or publisher released so you can know what the material is about. To me, that should be sufficient. If I give you a total recap it ruins the fun of discovery for you. And hopefully it will help cut down on the spoilers.

Speaking of spoilers, I will do my best to not have too many. And when I do have them, I will do my best to forewarn you so you can skip ahead if you want.

What are you currently reading?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My View on Reviews (and the next book club pick)

  1. Pingback: Reading Style and Book Club Info | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

