Everything But a Groom – book review

18709890

Everything But a Groom
by Holly Jacobs
Release Date:  November 20, 2012
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #1 in the Everything But…series
Number of Pages: 194
Kindle Edition
Source:  Kindle Lending Library
Rating:  PG
Read 1/27/17 to 1/28/17

This is a super quick read. There are a lot of characters to meet and thing that happen in the less than 200 pages, but the author pulls it off.  I believe this is my first book by Holly Jacobs although I run across her books all the time and have wanted to give them a try for some time.  I can’t say that I was disappointed; Ms. Jacobs knows how to spin a yarn.  But it was missing a bit of sizzle for me.  I don’t mean there has to be sex, but there does have to be more chemistry.  And to be perfectly clear, the PG rating is due to the subject matter (kids being abandoned by their parents).  The adult interactions are pretty G rated.

Vancy and Matt are actually perfect for each other.  They fall into rhythm of each other’s lives with no great problem.  In fact, with no problem at all.  Maybe that was the issue I had?  There was a bit of heat missing although I rooted for them to be together.  Could be that a bit of conflict between them and not just outside issues would have spiced things up a bit. I’m going to be confusing and contradictory now by saying it’s always nice to have a book without tons of conflict between the hero and heroine though.  It’s just that I knew there wasn’t going to be a stupid misunderstanding, which the reader finds ridiculous, causing a fight.  Sometimes authors go too far trying to find conflict.  I appreciate the fact that the author didn’t do that here.

I thoroughly enjoyed Vancy’s family and some of the issues that were hinted at on that end.  Even without a full-out inferno raging between the main characters here, I enjoyed the writing quite a bit and am looking forward to reading more in this series.

3.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everything But a Groom – book review

  1. Pingback: Everything But A Bride – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

