May Book Stats

book-read-relax-lilac

Books Read:  15
Books Acquired:  143

Most Read Genre: Contemporary Romance = 13
I think you’re starting to realize this is my go to genre.

I read a lot of good books in May, and my garden is suffering for it!  I said last month we had been getting outside more due to the weather changing.  That still goes for May, but we also had a lot of rain.  So, although it was warm enough to be gardening, it wasn’t dry enough.  Gardens and grass need rain though, so it’s not necessarily a bad thing.  Plus, more time for reading!

There were a lot of top rated books this month and I gave two of them 5 stars.  All You Need by Lorelei James and On Second Thought by Kristan Higgins.

Some of my other favorites were Lick by Kylie Scott, It Started with a Kiss by Marina Adair, Dream a Little Dream by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Last Chance Rebel and Hold Me, Cowboy both by Maisey Yates.  Those are just the books I rated 4.5 or higher!

30227857

I read one hardcover and 4 paperbacks in May.  The rest of the books were read on my Kindle.  All of the non-Kindle books were borrowed from my local library.

Net Galley = 2
Public Library = 5
Kindle Lending Library = 1
MCL = 3
Amazon (Purchased) = 4

There were 10 different authors read in May with two new-to-me authors; Kylie Scott and Craig Terlson.  I loved Kylie Scott and ended up reading two of her books in May with plenty more on tap.

As has been the case in most months lately, the oldest book I read was by Susan Elizabeth Phillips.  In fact, the two oldest books I read were by this author…Dream a Little Dream and This Heart of Mine.

Having read a few more books in May than I did in April bumped my page count back up; I read 4718 pages in May.  The shortest, coming in at 101 pages, was Without Restraint by Nicole Edwards.  The longest was This Heart of Mine by SEP with 432 pages.

My average star rating was again over 4 stars.  As I said before, there were two I rated 5 stars.  There were five I rated at 4.5 and five I rated at 4 stars.  Unfortunately, there was one 2 star book in there, but it was really quite a good month of reading overall.

As was the case in April, I only read two of the books I actually acquired I May.  Bayside Desires by Melissa Foster and Distraction by Nicole Edwards

33774604

Total books actually purchased in May = 3 (All from Amazon with 2 read in May)
Total money spent on books in May = $12.97

As usual, some of the books I read in May were actually purchased previous to May.  And I don’t read all the books I purchase right away.  So the amount I spent on books actually read in May was $10.96.

I got 118 of the 143 books in May from following my Book Bub email links.  My Kindle First book for May was The First Word by Isley Robson.  I got another 4 books from the links in the Just Add Spice newsletter, 2 from ads on Facebook, 2 browsing Amazon’s suggested titles, 1 from an email link from an author, 5 from another email newsletter I’ve been getting (I’ll tell you more about it next month if it seems to be a good source), 2 from NetGalley, and 5 from an email newsletter I get from Melissa Foster (they are not Melissa Foster books but authors she is teaming up with).

51M8gLPIKoL

Here’s a breakdown of May’s books by genre:

7           BDSM
7           chick lit
1           Christian fiction
86          contemporary romance
29          erotica
9           fantasy
4           historical fiction
21          historical romance
1           holiday
1           medieval
6           military
2           mystery
15          new adult
3           motorcycle club
14          paranormal
6           regency
2           science fiction
5           Scottish
4           shapeshifter
1           sports
9           suspense
11          western
10          YA

Did you read anything good in May?  Any book you would recommend?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

